Welcome to the Spectrum Community

Get answers, share solutions, help your community.

Start here

DVR: Not recorded because the channel was not available (8).

TWC5TWC5 Posts: 1
in TV Equipment Nov 03, 2017
So, I see that my DVR is recording the show, but when I go to watch, it has not recorded and this is the message I get. How is this fixed?

Comments

  • SatchSatch Posts: 3,639 helper
    Nov 03, 2017

    @TWC5 wrote:
    So, I see that my DVR is recording the show, but when I go to watch, it has not recorded and this is the message I get. How is this fixed?

    Hello,

    "Channel Not Available" errors are often the result of SDV or Switched Digital Video Errors.  Switched Digital Video is a process that puts certain channels on extended bandwidth so that more stations can be added to a cable system.  There are only a certain number of bandwidth slots that SDV can handle.  If too many people tune into the station at once, the SDV transfer of data becomes overcrowded on the server, resulting in "Channel Not Available" errors.

     

    You can also see this if the guide updated the listings, and those listings were not related to the same show when you set up the recording.  For example, let's say you record a show called "The Mysteries of Life" on a Wednesday night.

     

    Than sometime before Wednesday night, Gracenote, the company that does the listings for Spectrum and other vendor guides changes the guide data for the show to now be called "Mysteries of Life."  The DVR no longer has a matching show and gives the "Channel Not Available Error." when the recording tries to start.

     

    This is not a box issue or very rarely a signal issue.  Best thing to do is to try to reschedule the show or watch On Demand.  Let us know if this becomes an issue, and we can help set up a service call for Spectrum to do a signal and drop-line check.

     

    Satch

  • MsRayeMsRaye Posts: 25,606
    Nov 03, 2017

    Copy and paste your modems signal level and error log pages... if the day in question had a lot of log entries and correctable/uncorrectable counts are high, you have a coaxial issue

    Verify there's no open splitter ports/ extra's.. all connectors must be shiny and tight, the center wire shiny copper and extend 1/8" beyond the nuts. This includes backside of wall plates. The outside grounding block must look new and be bonded to the electric meter ground wire below the meter. If oiutside line runs through trees, it's probably chesed up.

    Cable boxes/ dvr's must have 3" of clearance on all sides to dissipate heat.

     

  • jaycbrfjaycbrf Posts: 5
    Dec 01, 2017

    Same problem here - Box #3 and tec #3 coming Saturday. Same problem every week same show - records other shows perfect.

  • SatchSatch Posts: 3,639 helper
    Dec 03, 2017

    @jaycbrf wrote:

    Same problem here - Box #3 and tec #3 coming Saturday. Same problem every week same show - records other shows perfect.


    Greetiings,

     

    See my explanation above regarding SDV- (Switched Digital Video.)  Another box and tech isn't going to do anything.  If your signals are good, not much else you can do but wait for the show to appear on Video on Demand.  SDV errors are NOT box related.  Sad that the phone and Twitter level 1 support reps don't know this.

     

    Satch

  • LabernathyLabernathy Posts: 1
    Dec 28, 2017
    How would this problem be resolved since my issues are with my sports channels. Something that doesn't exactly show up on demand. I'm at work a lot and even if the game comes on later I still can't record it.
  • SatchSatch Posts: 3,639 helper
    Jan 06, 2018

    @Labernathy wrote:
    How would this problem be resolved since my issues are with my sports channels. Something that doesn't exactly show up on demand. I'm at work a lot and even if the game comes on later I still can't record it.

    Greetings,

     

    If the channel not available (8) message happens from time to time, not much you can do about it.  If you are having problems every time to every other time with that error message, make a note of that error message and each channel that the "Channel Not Available" message appears.  You will than need to schedule a signal/drop line test.  If you do so, avoid resetting your boxes/modems for at least six hours so the tech can take a signal reading of the error codes on the channels in question.  (Resetting the equipment puts the error codes back to zero, where the tech won't see any problems.)

     

    On Demand cannot be recorded.  It is available at the description of the main broadcast station, who is solely responsible for its content and download to Spectrum's servers.  Time is generally two to seven days from the original broadcast, and can remain on the server for several weeks to a month or more.  (This is controlled by the host station.)

     

    Satch

This discussion has been closed.