Welcome to the Spectrum Community

Get answers, share solutions, help your community.

Start here

New Spectrum GIG no where near 940 Mbps

chasez0rchasez0r Posts: 8
in Connectivity Jan 10, 2018

I had the new Spectrum GIG service installed today in my NYC apartment, and my Speedtests from many, many different speed test services are coming in 250 Mbps - 550 Mbps at best.

Background: I am an IT professional myself.

I am testing directly off the Modem (Technicolor TC4400) using a Cat6 cable and my Ethernet jack is Gigabit rated.

The technition ran signal tests on my Coax and most of the channels were coming in at a healthy strength, though a few where coming in a little strong, which is a good thing. He ended up putting a splitter in the wall to dampen the signal, because apartnetly the GIG install policy wont let them complete the job unless all of the signals are in the Green. After that we re-ran the signal tests, and walla, all of the channels were now in the Green.

What does everyone think?

- Do I have a faulty modem?

- Should I remove the splitter he installed and let the stronger signals flow in?

- Do speedtest websites even support Gigabit testing reliably?

Thoughts on why Spectrum GIG is only a pinch faster then Ultra 300?

Comments

• ernie599ernie599 Posts: 31
    Jan 10, 2018

What are your modem readings?  Have you tried a differnet ethernet cable? I am only getting 400mpbs here in Los Angeles and I am using a Cat6a Cable shielded to my Asus Rapture GT-AC5300

I would remove the spiltter and take readings again and see what speeds you are getting. Also did they install a TAP on the line? Here in LA if you dont have Video service they sometimes put a tap so you cant get TV signal. I dont have a TAP as I pleaded for him not to install it since all i do is stream anyways and i watch everyting via HULU or Netflix only 
  • chasez0rchasez0r Posts: 8
    Jan 10, 2018