Welcome to the Spectrum Community

Get answers, share solutions, help your community.

Start here

Error code SFE-1004

don9512don9512 Posts: 1
in TV Equipment Apr 29, 2018

My Samsung TV has worked fine for a year and suddenly now it just gives me an error code SFE-1004. I've unplugged TV so it could reboot, nothing seems to help.

Best Answer

  • NevismommyNevismommy Posts: 5
    May 15, 2018 Accepted Answer
    Ok, I finally was able to delete the app and reinstalled it. It works now.

    Just an FYI, all the issues started after the app update on 4/26. There may have been a faulty update sent that caused the issues.

Replies

  • SatchSatch Posts: 3,630 helper
    Apr 29, 2018

    @don9512wrote:

    My Samsung TV has worked fine for a year and suddenly now it just gives me an error code SFE-1004. I've unplugged TV so it could reboot, nothing seems to help.


    Hi Don,

     

    We need more information to help with this error:

     

    • Do you have the TV connected to a cable box?  What is the make and model of the TV and cable box?
    • Have you cold rebooted the cable box? Power off the cable box, unplug for a minute, plug the cable box back in, wait for the clock to show on the box?  (This is not the same as rebooting the TV.)
    • Do you use HDMI or Component Cable?
    • Have you tried a different HDMI or component cable?
    • If you don't use a cable box, such as a Tuning Adapter or Roku,  have you rebooted them?

     

    Satch

  • Julia_RJulia_R Posts: 4,176 Lead Mod
    Apr 29, 2018

    Good afternoon.

     

    That particular message indicates that you need to update the App. 

     

    What model year TV are you using? 

     

    Regards,
    Julia R.
    Spectrum-Social Media Customer Care
    Lead Moderator-Community Forums

  • BriBri Posts: 1
    May 01, 2018
    I am having the same issue all of a sudden. My TV is just over 1 year old. It says I have the latest version: 1105 for the TV. There is no option to update the app.
  • RondoRondo Posts: 1
    May 10, 2018

    I am also having the same issue.  The TV is a Samsung series 5 5205.

  • Julia_RJulia_R Posts: 4,176 Lead Mod
    May 11, 2018

    To find the model year of the TV please







    1. Press Home button on remote control

    2. Select Settings on far-left side of the menu bar at the bottom of the screen.

    3. In the Settings menu select Support and then Contact Samsung

      • NOTE: 2017 & 2018 models: In Settings menu select Support and then About This TV

    4. Note the value of the "Model Code" Example model code: UN55MU800

     

     

    If you will reply with the model year I can view the steps needed to check for and update the app. 

     

    Thank you!

     

    Regards,
    Julia R.
    Spectrum-Social Media Customer Care
    Lead Moderator-Community Forums

     

     

     






  • NevismommyNevismommy Posts: 5
    May 12, 2018
    Model code un04j520d no year listed
  • Julia_RJulia_R Posts: 4,176 Lead Mod
    May 12, 2018

    That model code shows it is a 2015 model.

     

    The information I find about that on Samsung 2015 says 

     

    Spectrum TV App Upgrade on Samsung Smart TVs (CCOC: 18093)







    1. Press the Smart button on remote control
    2. Select Featured
    3. Select Apps
    4. Select Options in upper right corner of screen
    5. Select Update Apps

     

    Give that a try and let us know how it goes. 

     

    Regards,
    Julia R.
    Spectrum-Social Media Customer Care
    Lead Moderator-Community Forums

     







  • NevismommyNevismommy Posts: 5
    May 12, 2018
    I did that, it says there are no updates
  • Julia_RJulia_R Posts: 4,176 Lead Mod
    May 12, 2018

    What, if any, other steps have you taken? Do you have problems accessing the app on other devices? At what point are you getting the error message? Before getting the login screen? After? 

     

    The app version at this point should be Version 6.1 is this what you are currently seeing? 

     

    Our next step would be to have you uninstall the App and then reboot the TV. After the reboot please re-download the application. 

     

    Regards,
    Julia R.
    Spectrum-Social Media Customer Care
    Lead Moderator-Community Forums

     

  • NevismommyNevismommy Posts: 5
    May 15, 2018
    When I click on the app it immediately gives the error code. The TV will not let me uninstall the app. I can delete from the home screen but not uninstall.
  • NevismommyNevismommy Posts: 5
    May 15, 2018
    Also, we have version 6.120.
This discussion has been closed.