Welcome to the Spectrum Community

Get answers, share solutions, help your community.

Start here

Arris SB 8200

ttammannttammann Posts: 4
in Connectivity Jul 25, 2018

Hi

any news on the certification of the SB 8200. Best modem at the moment and not good that Spectrum still does not support it...

Best Answer

  • James_MJames_M Posts: 2,082 ADMIN
    Jul 25, 2018 Accepted Answer

    @ttammann

     

    Modems need to be tested on our network before they are approved.   I've included a link to Approved Modems.  This link will be updated with there are changes or when newly approved modems are added.  

     

Replies

  • dstoffadstoffa Posts: 988 ✭✭✭✭
    Jul 25, 2018

    @ttammann wrote:

    Hi

    any news on the certification of the SB 8200. Best modem at the moment and not good that Spectrum still does not support it...


    Since Spectrum does not charge you a fee for a modem (unless you are still on the ELP at $14.99), why not take their modem, and put the burden on them to guarantee you the speeds you pay for?  (I assume you have your own wireless router....  and this SB 8200 is not an all-in-one.)

  • ttammannttammann Posts: 4
    Jul 25, 2018

    why? because I do not like the shipped modem and because I should have a choice like with other providers

  • reds91185reds91185 Posts: 2,452
    Jul 25, 2018

    While the SB8200 isn't officially supported, I have seen very few reports of customers in former TWC areas having a problem getting it activated on all tiers except gigabit.  It will probably  work just fine if you activate it today.

  • ttammannttammann Posts: 4
    Jul 25, 2018

    yes, it works. but not with full 400Mbit and also no remote firmware upgrade...working is not same as "supported"....again, its currently one of the best, if not the best modem out there. Its not exotic in any way but rather mainstream. Spectrum should support it...

  • karlbeckmankarlbeckman Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭✭
    Jul 25, 2018

    If you want Spectrum to support whatever modem any customer might think is the best for any given data speed tier, are you also willing to pay the costs that Spectrum incurs to develop the initial boot files, keep their technical staff trained on the SB8200, and keep all units of that model up to date whenever the manufacturer finds a software bug?  Support won't be free when it has to be all-encompassing.

  • dstoffadstoffa Posts: 988 ✭✭✭✭
    Jul 25, 2018

    @karlbeckman wrote:

    If you want Spectrum to support whatever modem any customer might think is the best for any given data speed tier, are you also willing to pay the costs that Spectrum incurs to develop the initial boot files, keep their technical staff trained on the SB8200, and keep all units of that model up to date whenever the manufacturer finds a software bug?  Support won't be free when it has to be all-encompassing.


    I agree.  The ability to choose a modem needs to weigh against the ability of the provider to adequately serrvice my chosen modem and ensure my choice doesn't degrade service for others..

     

    If / when I get forced off ELP, I will take their free modem (once mine fails or is no longer supported) and not worry about getting my own modem to work on the system...

     

    If Spectrum gave a credit for "bringing your own modem", I might consider buying one.

  • ttammannttammann Posts: 4
    Jul 31, 2018

    Hi

     

    I get the business perspective. However, in this case

    a) competition supports the 8200

    b) the 8200 is anything but exotic, but actually toadys best choice for a docsis 3.1 modem

     

    given these facts, I think it is not just reasonable to expect Spectrum to support this modem, but actually, Spectrum fell way behind NOT doing so. I suspect an underlying technical issue that hinders them to do so. Must be somewhere old and outaded hardware (or just really old and outdated mindset). 

  • r-or-o Posts: 31
    Aug 07, 2018
    Where did you get the 'not full 400mbit' info? I added an SB8200 last month for my parents at their house and get 420-450 with no trouble, only took about 5 minutes on the phone.
  • karlbeckmankarlbeckman Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭✭
    Aug 07, 2018

    The SB8200 is currently not approved for Spectrum customer installation at any speed.  If and when it is finally approved, I suspect that 400 will be OK, but not as of today.

  • r-or-o Posts: 31
    Aug 11, 2018

    Apparently they're actively deleting other threads re: SB8200 and its successful use on Gigabit here (SO classy Spectrum, thats exactly the kind of company I'd want to give even MORE money to for 'upgrade fees'), but I added one a few weeks ago at my parents place and yesterday activated on my home connection as well. Literal five minute call and rep didnt ask what model. Blue light, OFDM lock, ~460 down, nice and solid, no trouble at all.

    Ive seen SB8200s recently for 149-169 on sale, so keep an eye out.

  • Julia_RJulia_R Posts: 4,186 Lead Mod
    Aug 11, 2018

    @r-o

     

    At this time there are no modems that have passed certification testing for the Spectrum Internet Gig tier with speeds up to 940 Mbps.

     

    No agent should be provisioning a customer owned modem for that level of service. 

     

    Regards,
    Julia R.
    Spectrum-Social Media Customer Care
    Lead Moderator-Community Forums

     

     

  • GarySevenGarySeven Posts: 7
    Aug 14, 2018

    I have an older Arris(Motorola) 8-channel cable modem. I'm looking to upgrade to a new modem. There's definite issues with the Intel Puma 6 cable modems (If you are technically competent, you know the issues).  Most (if not all) of the cable modems offered at the  Spectrum stores are Puma 6 cable modems. 

    I really want to upgrade to the Spectrum-provided TC4400 cable modem. I have called for months and gone into the Spectrum stores for months. All they do is insult me and tell me that I can't have one! I'm not ready for Gig speed (yet) and I can't justify the installation cost of a TC4400.  ( $200 !! to roll a truck for installation. I can purchase a DOCSIS 3.1 modem for that cost.)  I want to upgrade to be ready for future internet service improvements.

    As a result, I'm watching for a good price on an SB8200 ( I really want to go straight to  a DOCSIS 3.1 modem).  By the time I get an SB8200, Spectrum might support it.

  • r-or-o Posts: 31
    Aug 15, 2018

    They're not going to give you a 3.1 modem when you have no use for it/service that requires it, and theres no benefit to you from having one in the first place. Puma chip issues were remedied in later generations  of the hardware so hanging onto that reason now is rather pointless. 

    Spectrum are (increasingly, it seems) declining in CS while increasing in price, fees and difficulty to work with, but this particular case you're not really going to win and no reason you really should. They don't just have a box of modems behind the counter to hand out your preferred model from, buy an SB8200 and call it a day. They're too new for refurbs yet but they were 159 somewhere online just last week, so keep looking.

  • GarySevenGarySeven Posts: 7
    Aug 18, 2018

    I know that a DOCSIS 3.1 modem is more than I need (for now). Of course, Spectrum will never provide ( for standard monthly cost ) a better modem than you minimally need.  However, a TC4400 can't be much more than the combo modem/Wi-Fi boxes that Spectrum normally provide. The 8-channel modem that I've had since Time Warner Cable days is reaching end-of-life and probably near end-of-support from Spectrum. I would like to switch to a modem that I'll have for a while.

    Now, it's going to take a significant amount of proof to convince me that the latency issues of the Puma 6 modems have been resolved. Two months ago, on my son-in-law's newly installed Spectrum internet, I tested the new Spectrum-provided Arris telephony-cable modem. I verified that it has the latest Arris firmware for Puma 6 chipset. Total speed was OK, but when I ran the latency test, it showed exactly the latency problem attributed to the Puma 6 modems. So, the Puma 6 latency hasn't been fixed even with the latest firmware (v9.1.103) on Spectrum. Spectrum runs IPv6.

    That said, maybe, just maybe, the Puma 6 latency problem has been resolved on IPv4 networks. A friend of mine is on an IPv4 cable network and had latency problems and "stuttering" with his Arris SB6190. I finally convinced him to nag the provider for the latest SB6190 firmware. After update, his speed was much better and stable, no "stuttering", and the latency test showed clean (no latency problem). I believe that he updated to firmware v9.1.93V.

    Looking to the future, I don't know if the Puma 7 chipset has fixed the latency problem. Time will tell. Besides, the Puma 7 chipset is for DOCSIS 3.1 modems, so I wouldn't see a Spectrum-provided Puma 7 modem for quite a while.

  • reds91185reds91185 Posts: 2,452
    Aug 19, 2018
    Puma7 modems are also impacted by the same problem as the puma6.

    The most popular 3.1 modems out right now, including the Arris SB8200, Motorola MB8600, Netgear CM1000, and the Technicolor 4400 given out to gig users, all use Broadcom chipsets.
  • RobbyRobby Posts: 1
    Oct 02, 2018
    Is the SB82000 still being tested?
  • cybereyescybereyes Posts: 1
    Oct 04, 2018

    Why do you keep trying to peddle Spectrums junk modems. Maybe I don't want a tech at my house every 2 weeks, or maybe I don't want their throttled modem. Feel free to take their "free" modem, and just remember, you get what you pay for. 

  • GarySevenGarySeven Posts: 7
    Oct 20, 2018

    In October 2018, the Arris SB8200 was added to the "Minimally Qualified Modems" list.

    For legacy Time Warner Cable areas, go to 

    https://www.timewarnercable.com/en/support/internet/topics/modems.html

    and look under "Minimally Qualified" near the bottom of the page.

    (The Netgear CM1000 & CM1100 are also in the list)

     

    For Spectrum Cable, the list of Authorized Modems was updated on October 8, 2018.

    https://www.spectrum.net/support/internet/compliant-modems-charter-network/

    Expand the list under "Minimally Qualified Modems" and the Arris SB8200 is there (along with the Netgear CM1000 & CM1100).

     

  • karlbeckmankarlbeckman Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭✭
    Oct 20, 2018

    @cybereyes wrote:

    Why do you keep trying to peddle Spectrums junk modems. Maybe I don't want a tech at my house every 2 weeks, or maybe I don't want their throttled modem. Feel free to take their "free" modem, and just remember, you get what you pay for. 


    Not sure what you mean by either of the phrases "Spectrum's junk modems" or "their throttled modem."  You choose to subscribe to one of their internet service tiers that you decided is useable for your purpose and reasonably priced.  In return they provide you with a modem good for that tier's top speed, at no monthly charge.  Nobody twisted your arm.  If you don't want to use their free modem, fine. 

    Purchase your preferred modem from your favorite consumer electronics store and pay to fix it whenever it hiccups or needs a code update.  But don't try to turn their loaner unit concept into 'speed throttling', which has a rather strict FCC definition and is (sadly) no longer prohibited by the FCC. 

  • flyncalpolyflyncalpoly Posts: 21
    Oct 20, 2018
    A customer should have the right to purchase any modem they deem fit. Cable modem manufacturers require cable companies to push the updates, and it is something that is not user upgradable. There is no reason that when a code update is needed that spectrum could not push the update. Mobile phone companies do not force you to use specific phones; rather they give you a SIM card and allow you to put your device on the network. Some people don’t have offices that are within a 10 minute distance and don’t want to drive 30 minutes or longer. If the consumer feels that they don’t want cable company equipment in their house, which the fcc permits.
  • reds91185reds91185 Posts: 2,452
    Oct 22, 2018

    @flyncalpoly wrote:
    A customer should have the right to purchase any modem they deem fit. Cable modem manufacturers require cable companies to push the updates, and it is something that is not user upgradable. There is no reason that when a code update is needed that spectrum could not push the update. Mobile phone companies do not force you to use specific phones; rather they give you a SIM card and allow you to put your device on the network. Some people don’t have offices that are within a 10 minute distance and don’t want to drive 30 minutes or longer. If the consumer feels that they don’t want cable company equipment in their house, which the fcc permits.

    As a Spectrum customer you have the right to use your own modem for data, so long as Spectrum has determined that the modem will not adversely impact its network or your neighbors.  Whether or not a firmware update is needed and won't adversely impact the network isn't something an ISP is going to leave up to Netgear or Arris engineers. They will do their own testing and if they determine the update is needed and won't cause problems they will push out the updates...and not a second before.

     

    Who do you think a customer would blame if ISPs allowed the modem manufacturers to push updates directly and one happened to cause massive slowdowns?

  • flyncalpolyflyncalpoly Posts: 21
    Oct 22, 2018
    As stated in what I said spectrum can push the update when they deem it time. However they state they do not push updates for consumer owned modems. If I was to go out and purchase a new version it typically would be the newer firmware code what’s the difference between pushing an update and using one from bestbuy and putting it back on the network. This is in response to Karl’s comment that when there is an issue with the code just go purchase a new unit.
This discussion has been closed.