Welcome to the Spectrum Community

Get answers, share solutions, help your community.

Start here

Roku RLC-1000 error

agiaagia Posts: 178

Spectrum: please investigate from your side Spectrum App issues for the ROKU.  I already re-booted my modem, router, two ROKU devices, verified my user name and password, unsintalled and re-installed the Spectrum App, re-booted everything again.  There were no hardware changes made here at all, no cabling changes, no splitters added or removed, no VPN utilized, the PC Spectrum App works fine but is restricting certain channels and has a pop-up saying to connect to my Spectrum Internet Service.  Nothing on either ROKU which were both working fine earlier.  Other streaming services on the ROKU work fine -- just not your App which is reporting the RLC-1000 error.

Even changed my router's MAC address since some people's issues were solved that way which gave me a different IP address but stayed in the same subnet.  After the MAC address change, re-booted everything again.  All Internet is working except the Spectrum App on the ROKU devices and the same channel restriction on the PC App.  I changed back to my original MAC address and got my old IP address back since it made no difference to resolve the issues I'm having.  Cable modem signals and SNR are within range, called customer service and explained all the above but they could only respond there was an unidentified issue.  My cable modem monitoring software (that I wrote and previously utilized by TWC engineers to validate problems a few years back is showing my connectivity, downstream & upstream levels, signal-to-noise ratio, and up/down channel bonding are fine) .  The ROKU's are hardwired into my LAN -- this is not a wireless issue.  This is not a "unplug the modem and plug it back in" issue.

 

No hardware or ISP changes here except that TWC is transitioning to Spectrum.  Is all the account information and authentication data being transferred over and if so, accurately? This is what I suspect the problem is since these apps seem to think I'm outside my home area which I'm not.

 

ZIP Code here is 92064.

Best Answer

  • agiaagia Posts: 178
    Dec 22, 2018 Accepted Answer

    The issue has been resolved.  When I accessed the Spectrum app on the ROKU, it appears to be a new version, dated about a week ago, and it came up with a new agreement page before allowing access to the app.

     

    The PC app is working now too.  I knew it had nothing to do with my equipment.

Replies

  • agiaagia Posts: 178
    Dec 10, 2018

    Starting to see this now from the PC:

    445202d733104d8445cc66f5f0007157

     

     

     

  • agiaagia Posts: 178
    Dec 10, 2018

    Update.  Not fixed but got the following through a Live Chat:

     

    Spectrum: We are aware of the issues within the Spectrum TV App, we are having issues from streaming properly to resetting passwords, logging in, we have received multiple complaints regarding this I know it is quite frustrating. We certainly always want our customers to be able to enjoy our services without interruption. I apologize for any difficulty you have been experiencing. 

     

    Me: It is impacting both the PC application and the ROKU application. The PC app is 'crippled' but the ROKU refuses any connection.Again, both apps indicate I am not on my home network (which I am) so authentication back to your servers seems to be the issue.

     

    Spectrum: Yes it is even effecting the login to even pay your bill. There are many different errors that have been reported. I do apologize for the inconvenience this is causing. 

     

    Me: If TWC/Spectrum/Charter has a estimated time to repair, it would be nice to know.

     

    Spectrum: The engineers have not given us a time period on when this will be resolved since it is a major issue that we are having we are going to have to revamp many portions of the online services. 

     

    An ETA to have this resolved would be nice especially since I pay close to $200/month for my cable services!

     

  • Julia_RJulia_R Posts: 4,167 Lead Mod
    Dec 10, 2018

    Good morning.

     

    In regards to the out of  home message we have a few things we can try on our end.

     

    if what we do does not alleviate the issue it can be escalated to our specialists. 

    I encourage you to contact our Social Media Customer Care team to have this reviewed.

     

    Thank you for your participation in the forums. 

     

    Twitter: @Ask_Spectrum

    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Spectrum

     

     

    Regards,

    Julia R.

    Spectrum-Social Media Customer Care

    Lead Moderator-Community Forums

     

     

  • agiaagia Posts: 178
    Dec 10, 2018

    Would that be Facebook or Twitter?  If so, I am not on either one of those. 

     

    It appears direct support through DSLReports.com no longer lists this company (others are there).  Any other options to have this evaluated without having to create a Facebook (yuck) or Twitter account?  If this is not brought to someone's attention, the issue doesn't get resolved necessarily.

  • Julia_RJulia_R Posts: 4,167 Lead Mod
    Dec 10, 2018

    If you would prefer not to work via social media contacts we can suggest that you 

    phone in to have this reviewed.

     

    1-855-70-SPECTRUM (855-707-7328)

     

    Regards,

    Julia R.

    Spectrum-Social Media Customer Care

    Lead Moderator-Community Forums

  • agiaagia Posts: 178
    Dec 10, 2018

    I did phone this in yesterday and repeated it again via the LiveChat app (partial transcription provided here earlier).  Only an acknowledgment of the problem was provided. 

     

    The company should be providing something on their web site confirming the issue exists, that they are working on it, and provide an estimated time on returning services back to normal.  Their are other frustrated customers posting this issue on this forum as well as other places on the Internet.

  • stephenflystephenfly Posts: 1
    Dec 10, 2018

    We are having the same issues! Every app via Roku works great! No problems! Spectrum app won't load. It keeps asking for user name and password, but it just keeps looping to this RLC-1000. So what did Spectrum do to cause this? It worked just fine until Thursday or Friday. I don't think that these things just happen! We were told that no one else was having this problem! Obviously, from this forum, there are problems! When we called Customer Service, she said she would speed up the signal. Whatever she did took out our Internet and phone line. A different call concerning the issue of no phone /no internet-Customer Service was a young lady that could not speak proper English or understand it either.  She finally got phone and Internet back, but still Spectrum app will not load up. It keeps saying connect it to your internet! It is connected! Can anyone help me with this? We pay nearly $200. 00 a month for service that doesn't load an app up! Seems as if their technicians could figure this out, or at least have Customer Service admit that there is a problem! Thanks for listening! A reply would be appreciated! 

     

  • Jmcd1967Jmcd1967 Posts: 1
    Dec 10, 2018
    Same problem since 12/7
  • agiaagia Posts: 178
    Dec 10, 2018

    It seems to me the issue probably has something to do with TWC's infrastructure being absorbed by Charter.  Somewhere in the myriad of this transition, some authentication detail is being lost as the only thing that is not working is this Spectrum App. 

     

    Frankly, I'm surprised as customers we have to point this out to our ISPs as my research indicates this problem is not limited to a few of us.   The direct support forum at DSLReports.com is gone for Charter which is too bad.  When TWC had one there, it was fairly responsive.  I'm not aware of any kind of e-mail address that Charter has that I can send details to someone above an entry-level customer service representative.  I do have one for a hardware engineer but this is not an equipment problem.

  • ridge9497ridge9497 Posts: 2
    Dec 10, 2018

    I find it amazing that this problem appear to be repeating itself for a year.  Do a few interweb searches on RLC-1000 and you will see 2017 vintage issues.

    Issues started for me Friday,  see above with same timeframe.    ROKU nor my network has changed, which implies change by Spectrum.    Change management 101 - back out changes and better test patches being applied.  


    With this said, appears  Spectrum spends more money advertising / commericals than they do support customers. 

  • reds91185reds91185 Posts: 2,452
    Dec 11, 2018

    I'm not defending but just pointing out that all live streaming services have had major problems in the past year...Directv Now and Youtube TV back in October, Hulu during the Super Bowl, Sling TV in April....and so on.

     

    Live tv streaming is...problematic. They are all learning from each other what works and what doesn't and will eventually make it reliable for everyone.

  • agiaagia Posts: 178
    Dec 11, 2018

    Hi reds91185,

     

    The streaming was working fine.  The issue has been getting past the hurdle where both the PC and ROKU app believe the user is operating away from their home based connection (presumably because the apps believe it is not pulling down data through the customer's authenticated modem).  It is in fact acting like I expect it to if I were to launch these apps from out of town.

     

    The PC app is streaming for me but locking out certain channels.  The ROKU app will not let me log-in at all.  Both applications were working great for the past two to three years until last weekend.

  • reds91185reds91185 Posts: 2,452
    Dec 11, 2018

    There are several overlapping issues with the live stream, with your specific authentication issue being one of them that seems to be very widespread and very intermittent.  I've been lucky in that I haven't experienced any of these problems...knock on wood.

  • KMC29063KMC29063 Posts: 1
    Dec 11, 2018

    Ditto here at zipcode 29063.  App stopped working sometime on Friday.  Had no problems for years prior to that.  Spectrum only acknowledged that they have a problem.  They need to back out their latest change and go back to the drawing board.  Many paying customers not getting service right now.  Paying for a product and not getting said product.

  • agiaagia Posts: 178
    Dec 11, 2018

    Just had a voice mail message from Spectrum saying they have fixed the issue.   I just checked the PC app and it is still indicating I need to connect to my home network.  I have not checked the ROKU yet but I will and will update that result here when I get back home.

  • DaytonatipDaytonatip Posts: 3
    Dec 12, 2018
    Same here in zip code 12306. Unable to use the Roku App since 12/07. Called Spectrum twice. Got the same canned answer- ‘we are aware of the problem. Please try the app again in 24 hours.’ Keep trying and nothing gets resolved. Getting ready to cancel their service.
This discussion has been closed.