Modem replaced 3 times - WHY is modem still receiving this error

Gridmstr75Gridmstr75 Posts: 8
edited August 21 in Internet 2019 Archive Dec 31, 2018

My current setup is  as follows:

 

Arris SB6190 which is suppose to be on the compatible list of Spectrums compatible Modems, previously i had netgear CM700 and then a CM600 and both had this same error that i am getting now on my new modem -

 

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=3c:04:61:48:42:1d;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:69:2a:6d;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

I called tech support and told them i am getting this error still, also internet has been jittery and lagging especailly playing games online.. they did a line test and ping just basic stuff and tech said no issues reported, no reported outages either.  What is going on, the dumb thing is too they want to charge to bring tech out to look at well from i gather its nothing with my equipment its brand new.  I also just upgraded to a ASUS Rt-AC3100 recenlty and it is setup for QOs for gaming havent configured much on it as of yet except wifi and usb storage drive. 

Comments

  • Julia_RJulia_R Posts: 4,402 Lead Mod
    Dec 31, 2018

    Morning!

     

    I was able to locate the account by your registration information. I am seeing some

    issues with your downstream signal levels. 

     

    I would encourage you to contact our Social Media Customer Care team to 

    schedule a follow up tech visit.

    EDIT 

    Twitter: @Ask_Spectrum

    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Spectrum

     

     

     

    Regards,

    Julia R.

    Spectrum-Social Media Customer Care

    Lead Moderator-Community Forums

     

  • Gridmstr75Gridmstr75 Posts: 8
    Dec 31, 2018

    Hi can you provide the link to that site?  please and as well thanks for the other comment regarding the modem that is what I thought as well but Support just blew me off ,,, 

  • Gridmstr75Gridmstr75 Posts: 8
    Dec 31, 2018
    Downstream Bonded Channels
    ChannelLock StatusModulationChannel IDFrequencyPowerSNRCorrectedUncorrectables
    1Locked256QAM32705.00 MHz9.00 dBmV40.37 dB3530
    2Locked256QAM2525.00 MHz9.60 dBmV40.37 dB280
    3Locked256QAM3531.00 MHz9.50 dBmV40.37 dB260
    4Locked256QAM4537.00 MHz9.40 dBmV40.95 dB390
    5Locked256QAM5543.00 MHz9.00 dBmV40.37 dB120
    6Locked256QAM6549.00 MHz9.00 dBmV38.98 dB280
    7Locked256QAM7555.00 MHz8.70 dBmV40.95 dB440
    8Locked256QAM8561.00 MHz9.00 dBmV38.98 dB470
    9Locked256QAM9567.00 MHz9.40 dBmV40.37 dB550
    10Locked256QAM10573.00 MHz9.60 dBmV40.37 dB440
    11Locked256QAM11579.00 MHz9.60 dBmV40.37 dB430
    12Locked256QAM12585.00 MHz9.60 dBmV40.37 dB310
    13Locked256QAM13591.00 MHz9.40 dBmV40.37 dB430
    14Locked256QAM14597.00 MHz9.50 dBmV40.37 dB430
    15Locked256QAM15603.00 MHz9.50 dBmV38.98 dB570
    16Locked256QAM16609.00 MHz9.10 dBmV40.37 dB880
    17Locked256QAM17615.00 MHz8.90 dBmV40.37 dB760
    18Locked256QAM18621.00 MHz8.90 dBmV38.98 dB1090
    19Locked256QAM19627.00 MHz8.80 dBmV38.98 dB1150
    20Locked256QAM20633.00 MHz8.70 dBmV38.98 dB2260
    21Locked256QAM21639.00 MHz8.80 dBmV38.98 dB2270
    22Locked256QAM22645.00 MHz8.70 dBmV38.61 dB2120
    23Locked256QAM23651.00 MHz8.60 dBmV38.98 dB2200
    24Locked256QAM24657.00 MHz8.30 dBmV38.98 dB4100
    25Locked256QAM25663.00 MHz7.90 dBmV39.20 dB5210
    26Locked256QAM26669.00 MHz7.70 dBmV38.90 dB6630
    27Locked256QAM27675.00 MHz7.70 dBmV39.20 dB7360
    28Locked256QAM28681.00 MHz7.80 dBmV38.90 dB6510
    29Locked256QAM29687.00 MHz7.90 dBmV39.20 dB5550
    30Locked256QAM30693.00 MHz8.50 dBmV39.20 dB4330
    31Locked256QAM31699.00 MHz9.00 dBmV39.20 dB2700

     

     
    Upstream Bonded Channels
    ChannelLock StatusUS Channel TypeChannel IDSymbol RateFrequencyPower
    1LockedATDMA285120 kSym/s37.00 MHz43.50 dBmV
    2LockedATDMA275120 kSym/s30.60 MHz43.50 dBmV
    3LockedATDMA265120 kSym/s24.20 MHz43.00 dBmV
    4LockedATDMA255120 kSym/s17.80 MHz43.00 dBmV
  • Julia_RJulia_R Posts: 4,402 Lead Mod
    Dec 31, 2018

    I'm very sorry I had not included that!

     

    Twitter: @Ask_Spectrum

    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Spectrum

     

     

    Ive also noted your account.   Just let them know you were here and got referred 

    over. 

     

    Regards,

    Julia R.

    Spectrum-Social Media Customer Care

    Lead Moderator-Community Forums

  • Gridmstr75Gridmstr75 Posts: 8
    Jan 01, 2019

    thanks Julia sending onsite tech out hopefully its a cable issue... this has also happened at the previous place i was living - coax is the issue has to be , weather, water , rodents etc.

     

    Also the the other post please respond back you had some great insite?

     

  • karlbeckmankarlbeckman Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭✭
    Jan 01, 2019

    I'm hoping that at least one of you notices that the Arris SB6190 32 DS channel modem is only reporting 31 channels, not all 32.  This could be a fault in the CMTS channel assignment programming, or a corrupted initialization file.  To eliminate the latter, I would recommend resetting the modem to factory starting values, then let Spectrum send it another registration. 

     

    The modem factory reset step requires that you press the reset buitton and hold it in for at least ten seconds.

  • Smith6612Smith6612 Posts: 44
    Jan 05, 2019

    31 channels is usually intentional in DOCSIS 3.1 markets. Having 32 downstream channels was causing older modems without the latest firmware to fall over and fail to sync when a 32 channel list was presented during modem sync.

  • Gridmstr75Gridmstr75 Posts: 8
    Jan 13, 2019

    Hi thanks everyone who added to this post, however after a couple of weeks still receiving these errors difference is i took the ARRis SB back and put back my netgear CM700 which someone recommened  i do for online gaming which is a big requirement of mine.  Also Spectrum sent out tech to check line and he didnt find any issues except to replace some old connectors , he left and the errors came back so he came back and now they want to replace the actual coaxial line this apartment ( i just moved into this apartment } it was remodled the wiring maybe old not sure.   so at this point replce the line Im thinking it wont solve the issue here is the lastest log of errors - i know some Error like the MIMO are normal because of  a restart of the modem 

     

    TimePriorityDescription
    Jan 05 2019 11:17:38Warning (5)MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1
    Jan 06 2019 04:24:19Critical (3)No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
    Jan 08 2019 11:56:50Critical (3)Ranging Request Retries exhausted
    Jan 08 2019 11:56:50Critical (3)Unicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted
    Jan 08 2019 11:57:14Critical (3)No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
    Jan 08 2019 12:03:38Critical (3)Ranging Request Retries exhausted
    Jan 08 2019 12:03:38Critical (3)Unicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted
    Jan 08 2019 12:04:02Critical (3)No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
    Jan 08 2019 12:10:24Critical (3)Ranging Request Retries exhausted
    Jan 08 2019 12:10:24Critical (3)Unicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted
    Jan 08 2019 12:10:48Critical (3)No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
    Jan 09 2019 19:26:02Warning (5)MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1
    Jan 10 2019 06:43:23Critical (3)No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
    Jan 10 2019 20:17:26Critical (3)SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync
    Jan 11 2019 07:44:00Critical (3)No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
    Jan 12 2019 10:30:42Warning (5)TEK Invalid - Invalid Key Sequence Number
    Jan 12 2019 17:01:57Critical (3)No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
  • karlbeckmankarlbeckman Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭✭
    Jan 13, 2019

    I think the most obvious reason is that it is not a problem within the modem.  Therefore changing the modem once, twice, or as many times a day as you want still won't fix the problem that is being reported.  The status message says that the modem is not detecting a Unicast Maintenance Ranging opportunity, for which the control message is sent from the hub CMTS.  It's a network signal problem.  Either the hub isn't sending the message or none of the modems is able to decode it correctly. 

  • Gridmstr75Gridmstr75 Posts: 8
    Jan 15, 2019

    ok thanks I do realize this.. so the latter is to replace the cable from the apartment drop to the mux outside.  can the Social media moderator please respond to this?  

  • Gridmstr75Gridmstr75 Posts: 8
    Jan 16, 2019

    this can be true but in this case it should be noted that each unit has their own run of coaxial lines the apartments are all seperate from each other as far as the coaxial goes. 

  • Gridmstr75Gridmstr75 Posts: 8
    Jan 20, 2019

    received a lot of these errors today

     

    Jan 19 2019 11:49:03Critical (3)

    Unicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted

     

     

    Jan 19 2019 11:49:27Critical (3)No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

     

     

    Jan 19 2019 10:05:26Critical (3)No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
This discussion has been closed.