Welcome to the Spectrum Community

Get answers, share solutions, help your community.

Start here

Paying for 400 Mbps getting max in the upper 90s Mbps

denn333denn333 Posts: 3
in Connectivity Jul 18, 2020

Speedtest continually shows a max speed of upper 90s for Mbps and the upload is like 12 max. I am paying for 400 Mbps and have been for a while. This number is consistent regardless of which device I use, whether it's cabled ethernet or wifi on n/5Ghz.

 

So two questions:

1) I have an Arris SBG6580-2 modem, and nobody at Spectrum ever told me that I needed a different modem to get the higher speeds. Even still, it should be more than upper 90s, no?

 

2) I really want a refund for the extra $20 spent per month since it was increased. That's a lot of wasted money. Does anyone have experience with this?

 

I think the coaxial is okay, but just in case:

 

Downstream Bonded Channels
ChannelLock StatusModulationChannel IDFrequencyPowerSNRCorrectedUncorrectables
1LockedQAM25631465000000 Hz1.9 dBmV43.2 dB93423937
2LockedQAM25629453000000 Hz2.2 dBmV43.2 dB104473535
3LockedQAM25630459000000 Hz1.7 dBmV43.2 dB99843461
4LockedQAM2567315000000 Hz3.3 dBmV44.6 dB1324817717
5LockedQAM25628447000000 Hz2.1 dBmV43.2 dB107864695
6LockedQAM2564297000000 Hz2.7 dBmV43.9 dB1578415282
7LockedQAM2563291000000 Hz3.4 dBmV44.6 dB1768713761
8LockedQAM2565303000000 Hz2.8 dBmV43.9 dB1596316057

 

 
Upstream Bonded Channels
ChannelLock StatusUS Channel TypeChannel IDSymbol RateFrequencyPower
1LockedATDMA85120 Ksym/sec37000000 Hz51.3 dBmV
2LockedATDMA65120 Ksym/sec24200000 Hz50.0 dBmV
3LockedATDMA75120 Ksym/sec30600000 Hz51.0 dBmV
4LockedATDMA55120 Ksym/sec17800000 Hz49.8 dBmV

Comments

  • reds91185reds91185 Posts: 2,452
    Jul 18, 2020

    That modem is only authorized for 100 Mbps tiers and below.  Also, your upstream power levels are borderline. Do you have splitters before the modem?

     

    Authorized Modems to Use on the Spectrum Network 

     

  • denn333denn333 Posts: 3
    Jul 18, 2020

    I know, and I mentioned, that it's only certified for lower speeds. :-)

     

    Just one split, alonside the cable TV.

  • reds91185reds91185 Posts: 2,452
    Jul 18, 2020

    Your options are to use the Spectrum modem that is included in the price of your internet service, or buy a modem that is on the authorized list for your tier. 

     

    As far as getting a refund...that out of our hands but I don't like your chances.

  • denn333denn333 Posts: 3
    Jul 19, 2020

    But what about my first question. Isn't a speed of 90-something still low for this modem? It's rated to handle up to 340ish, I think.

  • karlbeckmankarlbeckman Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭✭
    Jul 19, 2020

    Spectrum has tested and approved your model of modem only for service tiers of  100 Mbps or below, so 100 is the fastest speed they will enable.  The Motorola SBG6580 is an older DOCSIS 3 technology device with user manuals and data sheets going back to 2010.  The "over 340 Mbps" number is just marketing hype by the manufacturer and distributor, it's not an achievable speed rating on a real working digital cable network like Spectrum,

  • MadCow333MadCow333 Posts: 12
    Jul 21, 2020

    In some areas with older physical cable and related gear that was intended to only handle cable TV, the network nodes are overloaded when everyone on them started connecting multiple devices to Internet and streaming.    Spectrum installed an amplifier in my home to help compensate.  And it works well enough for our purposes, but we are still on the 100mbps or whatever speed we had as a Time Warner legacy customer.  

  • karlbeckmankarlbeckman Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭✭
    Jul 23, 2020

    Connecting a line amplifier to a drop on an already overloaded node is much like wiring a bullhorn into your phone to make the busy signals louder.  It can't increase the data capacity, nor compensate for, reduce, or cure the congestion problem.  It serves no purpose except to annoy the user and amplify line noise.  

Sign In or Register to comment.