Wireless Connectivity

Neal92126Neal92126 Posts: 3 ✭✭
in Connectivity Oct 27, 2020

Have a network with two computers and two printers. One computer is hooked up via ethernet the other wireless. The printers are wireless. Yesterday, both printers lost connectivity to the router. Attempts to reestablish wireless connectivity time out on both printers. The wireless computer still has internet connectivity. Spectrum technical assistance says that it cannot be the router since the wireless computer is still working. Any ideas on what could be causing the problem? 

Replies

  • rocketjetzrocketjetz Posts: 152 ✭✭✭✭
    edited October 27 Oct 27, 2020

    wireless printers seem to go into a very low power mode, or sleep mode, and when they do that they have a tendency to go into a pseudo-zombie state when it comes to connectivity.

    You can adjust or even turn off this power saving mode in some printers but your printer then stays on all the time.

    printers by reserving them an IP address within the IP address range provided by your router, like 192.168.1.2 to 192.168.1.253. This can usually be done in your routers configuration section.

    The problem though is that Spectrum routers have the hatches battened down so tight so you can't config much of anything. Good for them as it reduces tech support calls but bad for end users who want to be able to config their own home networks and devices.

    Also depending on the make/model of your wireless printer , it may allow you to set a static ip from its lcd config panel...... with a default gateway of 192.168.1.1 usually and a subnet mask of 255.255.255.0...... your network may be different.

    mine both have wps but wps is a security issue and some routers have no such wps button to begin with and some printers have no wps capability.


    hth

  • Neal92126Neal92126 Posts: 3 ✭✭
    Oct 27, 2020

    The IP address, on each printer, matches the IP address the router/computer is looking for. Neither printer will wireless connect to the router using either standard setup or WPS.

  • Lake802Lake802 Posts: 49 ✭✭✭✭
    edited October 28 Oct 28, 2020

    Hello Neal - sorry to hear your are having printer connectivity issues - it can usually be resolved quickly.

    On most Spectrum routers you have full access to the settings that can affect the printer connectivity.

    To get some insights on what is happening - go to a command prompt on the wired pc...

    At the prompt type arp -a and hit enter

    It will give you a list of mac address and ip addresses that the pc can see.

    Let us know if the mac addresses and ip of each printer show on that list.

    Then type ping xx.yy.zz.nn where xx.yy.zz.nn is the ip address of the printer.

    That will give you the answer as to whether the pc can see the printer..

    In most cases the printer issue can be resolved without bothering with anything on the router..

    You can try powering all devices off including pc, printers, modem and router..

    Then turn the devices back on but in sequence.

    Turn modem back on first. Give it 2-3 minutes to come all the way back on. Next power on router and give it a few mins to fully come on. Then turn on pc - make sure it can connect to internet. Finally turn printer on and see if you can ping it/and print to it.

    If you cant print, try deleting the printer driver and then re-add the printer..

    Kindly let us know if that resolves issue for you.

  • Neal92126Neal92126 Posts: 3 ✭✭
    Oct 28, 2020

    From the cmd line, I entered  arp -a. Neither the IP or MAC address for either printer appeared. I was unable to ping either printer. I then connected the printers to the router using ethernet cables and the computer does see the IP and MAC addresses. I was able to ping the printers and print to them. I then removed the ethernet cables, returned the printers to a wireless configuration, and again the PC cannot see the IP/MAC addresses. The printers are not near the PC so ethernet is not a long-term solution. Any ideas?

  • Lake802Lake802 Posts: 49 ✭✭✭✭
    Nov 01, 2020

    Hello Neal - sounds like you made good progress in diagnosing issue with arp and ping.

    For next steps try the same but connect pc to wifi as first step and confirm internet connectivity is working from pc via wifi. To force the printer to re-authenticate you can try changing the WIFI ssid briefly and see if they will connect to the new wifi name. That will give you some insight as to whether printers are failing to connect from an authentication issue or not. With the pc and printers on wifi , that same test of arp -a and ping, validate printer mac address will confirm if they are connecting or not.

    Please test and let us know if that works. If it is a firmware gremlin on router that is preventing connection, it is sometimes easier to have them replace your wifi router instead of wrestling with firmware updates.. Its entirely your preference as to whats more convenient for you in that regard.

  • karlbeckmankarlbeckman Posts: 2,233 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November 6 Nov 06, 2020

    @Neal92126

    As @rocketjetz pointed out, when printers go into sleep mode, they abandon their wireless DHCP address session. Then when you try to print, you get that fun error message "Device not found." Assigning a static IP address keeps the printer at the same address on your LAN, even after a power outage. It will ALWAYS boot up to that same addreess which your router remembers. The same thing happens with WiFi-based cameras.

    Here's the place where folks get tripped up: Remember the supreme rule that Every static IP address MUST ALWAYS BE outside the programmed range for the router's DHCP.. Since the routers that Spectrum provides to users almost never have a programmable upper boundary, you normally have to build your static IP block at the bottom, below the DHCP starting point. Even if you buy your own router and it does have a user-settable upper limit for DHCP, the same rule still always applies.

    EXAMPLE: If you want to reserve space for up to twenty static IP addresses for cameras and printers on your home LAN, then the DHCP assignment in your router must start at 22 or higher. (that would be 192.168.1.22).


    Edit: PS You can also assign a static IP to your computer linked over WiFi IF you only use it on your home LAN, but DON'T do that for any device that also has to connect to any other WiFi networks that use DHCP, such as work, school, or hotspots!

This discussion has been closed.