How to know if my modem has the latest firmware?

M3rgeM3rge Posts: 4 ✭✭
in Connectivity Jan 10, 2021

Any help?

Replies

  • Lake802Lake802 Posts: 81 ✭✭✭✭
    Jan 11, 2021

    Greetings M3 - your question is a good one. In general the firmware updates are automatically pushed out to modems with no action required on your part. It is not clear from your post if you have a Spectrum provided modem or third party modem that you purchased.

    Kindly let us know what modem you have and current firmware version .

  • M3rgeM3rge Posts: 4 ✭✭
    Jan 11, 2021

    Hello,

    I have the Spectrum Arris TM1602A MTA modem and Sagemcom [email protected] router. Not sure how I can check the firmware version of my modem since every time I get in I can only see the router instead of the modem.

  • M3rgeM3rge Posts: 4 ✭✭
    Jan 11, 2021

    Found it:

    ARRIS DOCSIS 3.0 / PacketCable 2.0 Touchstone Telephony Modem

    HW_REV: 1

    VENDOR: ARRIS Group, Inc.

    BOOTR: 2.2.0.45

    SW_REV: 9.1.103J8TW1.SIP.PC20.TW

    MODEL: TM1602AP2

    Firmware Name:TS0901103J8TW1_010918_1602.TM_PC20_TWFirmware Build Time:Tue Jan 9 16:21:59 EST 2018

    Hope this help!

  • M3rgeM3rge Posts: 4 ✭✭
    Jan 11, 2021

    Is the SNR and correcteds/uncorrectables numbers normal?

  • Lake802Lake802 Posts: 81 ✭✭✭✭
    Jan 11, 2021

    Thanks for the update M3. The SNR would be considered ok/in spec. Uncorrectables however are not.

    Would encourage you to schedule a service call with tech support . Ask them to resolve issue with uncorrectables, verify there are no T3 errors or errors of any kind in the modem log.

    Please let us know how it goes after your service visit.

  • karlbeckmankarlbeckman Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭✭
    Jan 15, 2021

    I agree with @Lake802 that the individual channel signal levels are OK, but the uncorrectable errors most certainly are not. The eMTA (phone+internet) modem was provided to you by Spectrum, and they are totally responsible for its functionality. There is no reason that you need to know the firmware version, since you have neither control over nor access to the firmware. If you have an internet service problem you just ask/tell Spectrum to repair or replace the failed modem device.

Sign In or Register to comment.