Before posting a new question, please check out our Internet / WiFi and Spectrum TV App troubleshooting pages for common issues, as well as useful information to include in your post.

Advanced Search Options


We have advanced search options to make it easier to locate posts, questions and answers on this community.
More information can be found at Advanced Search Options
If you are looking for something specific, please check if someone else has already asked or answered the same question.

Smart TV and XBox can't find WiFi anymore

MatiaMatia Posts: 5 Spectator
edited August 2021 in Internet 2021 Archive Mar 01, 2021

Our Smart TV and XBox both stopped finding our WiFi name (both 2.5, 5 and our extenders). I set up a hotspot on my phone and both of those devices find that hotspot no problem. I have two laptops that can still find and connect fine and our computer, which is connected through Ethernet, connects fine. Any ideas as to why certain devices won't find our WiFi?

Replies

  • James_MJames_M Posts: 3,391 ADMIN
    Mar 02, 2021

    Hi!

    Have you tried restarting the modem?

  • MatiaMatia Posts: 5 Spectator
    Mar 03, 2021

    Multiple times. No difference.

  • James_MJames_M Posts: 3,391 ADMIN
    Mar 03, 2021

    Thanks, what is the brand and model of the TV?

  • MatiaMatia Posts: 5 Spectator
    Mar 04, 2021

    Samsung un55nu6900

  • Julia_RJulia_R Posts: 4,661 Contributor
    Mar 04, 2021


    Are you using a router connected to the modem or an all in one?

    What type of router, if you are using a separate piece of equipment? In some cases

    doing a factory reset of the router and then setting things back up does the trick.


    Julia_R

  • MatiaMatia Posts: 5 Spectator
    Mar 04, 2021

    We have two devices. Our modem is Arris brand. Is a factory reset any different than just unplugging the router for 60 seconds? I'm actually wondering if our TV/xBox could be blacklisted from our router/modem? Is that even possible? Like I said earlier, they both pick up my mobile hotpot from my phone just fine.

  • Julia_RJulia_R Posts: 4,661 Contributor
    Mar 04, 2021


    What kind of router do you have? If the modem is connected to a router we dont need to do a

    factory reset on that. A factory reset usually has to be done via a pin hole button on the device.

    Press and hold for 30 seconds. In this case you dont want to do that to the modem.

    If you will unplug the power to the modem and the router. First plug in the modem. Let it completely reboot.

    After the modem finishes, plug the router back in and let it reboot. If you still dont see the wifi on those devices you may want to factory reset the router. Is this a Spectrum router or one you own?

    What make/model is it? Do your other devices see two different networks (ssid) ? 2.4 GHz and 5GHz?

    Julia_R

  • MatiaMatia Posts: 5 Spectator
    Mar 09, 2021

    Sorry, I did not get a notification of your response! I'll try the reboots. The router is ours, it's Netgear, the modem is Spectrum's. Our laptops and phones can find both 2.4 and 5GHz.

  • James_MJames_M Posts: 3,391 ADMIN
    Mar 09, 2021

    Thanks! Let us know if the issue continues after the modem is rebooted.

This discussion has been closed.