Welcome to the Community!


If you are looking for something specific, please use the search bar to check if someone else has asked or answered the same question before posting a new question. Check out our Community Instructions for other FAQ's.

DVR will not accept programming a series - only for MSNBC ( Charlotte NC CH 50 )

falcon04falcon04 Posts: 18 ✭✭✭
edited April 9 in TV Equipment Mar 31, 2021

I can program a series - new or all programs - with any available channel,except MSNBC. This started 2 days ago.

The MSNBC saved series remain in the series manager, and will show if I save another MSNBC series, but will not save in the scheduled programs.

I tried all the other news channels plus network channels and they all program normally.

I can still schedule individual MSNBC episodes, just the series option does not work.

Is MSNBC being blacklisted by Spectrum ???

Replies

  • James_MJames_M Posts: 2,753 ADMIN
    Mar 31, 2021

    Hi @falcon04,

    There are currently no known issues with MSNBC. This is likely an equipment issue. Please try rebooting the DVR (unplug for 30 seconds and plug in again) and try scheduling another recording. It is also a good idea to check that the coax connection is secure and finger tight at the set top box and any connections

  • falcon04falcon04 Posts: 18 ✭✭✭
    Mar 31, 2021

    First, an amplification:

    I have 2 ARRIS 3600m DVRs ( one for me, another in another part of the house for my wife - boy did this work for both of us 😜) . Both are experiencing the same issue.

    Neither a plugged-in reboot using the settings & remote, nor an unplugged reboot change a thing.

    All other channels work fine for series scheduling - during an attempt to set a series on MSNBC, the screen flashes but none of the red dots sticks. I can set individual programs just fine.

    I doubt that both DVRs have crashed on this issue alone - the problem must be at the Spectrum end.

    ( Unless this is a secret FNN conspiracy to punish MSNBC 😁 )

  • James_MJames_M Posts: 2,753 ADMIN
    Mar 31, 2021

    Thanks for confirming and trying the reboot. You also answered my next question, which was if it was happening on more than one DVR. I agree that the issue is not likely to occur randomly on two devices.

    Next step would be to check the available space. If there is less than 5% available, then you may want to try freeing up some space or deleting any old or unwanted programs. After that, then I would suggest considering a service call to check the signals and outside lines for damage. In the interim, it you have the Spectrum TV app downloaded to a mobile device, you can try managing recordings from the device. I you need assistance setting up a service call, let us know.

  • falcon04falcon04 Posts: 18 ✭✭✭
    Apr 01, 2021

    Forget it - it's a transmission problem - not a reception problem.

    It has to be addressed at the Spectrum end.

    I have NO other reception issues - this is a coding error pure and simple.

    TY for your comments.

  • James_MJames_M Posts: 2,753 ADMIN
    Apr 01, 2021

    Sure thing, will keep an eye out for anyone else having a similar issue. If you change your mind about continuing to troubleshoot the issue, let us know!

  • SatchSatch Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭✭
    edited April 1 Apr 01, 2021

    What error codes and error messages if any do you get when you program a series on MSNBC? Or are there no error message, and the screen selection for MSNBC does not give you the option to record a series? Screenshots would be helpful. Thanks!

    Satch

  • SatchSatch Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭✭
    Apr 02, 2021

    Another Tip,

    Google Search, Spectrum, "What guide do I have?" and than tell us, (with the screenshots if you can.) any error codes or messages. When you select an MSNBC program, do you get the option to "Record Series" in your screen prompts? I wonder if this is a listing error? You metioned having the Arris 3600, which is a great box! You are probably running either the ODN guide or the New Spectrum Guide.

    Satch

  • falcon04falcon04 Posts: 18 ✭✭✭
    Apr 02, 2021

    ODN guide. No error messages. When I pick an MSNBC program from the guide, all appears normal. When I try to record a series, the usual gray pop-up box:

    ____________________________

    I ATTENTION I

    I Updating your scheduled recordings I

    ____________________________

    Appears for a split second, then disappears.

    However, the program is listed in the series manager, and the series tag of layered red dots appears, but no programs are added to the scheduled recordings.

    Happens on both DVRs, and ONLY on MSNBC.

  • SatchSatch Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭✭
    Apr 02, 2021

    Thanks for this update!

    Since this behavior is on both boxes and all other channels are perfect, and there is no evidence of signal or line problems, this has to be an ODN database coding error,

    Anyone else running the ODN guide should test the same instance of trying to record a series on MSNBC:

    *******************************************************************************************

    "ODN guide. No error messages. When I pick an MSNBC program from the guide, all appears normal. When I try to record a series, the usual gray pop-up box:

    ____________________________

    I ATTENTION I

    I Updating your scheduled recordings I

    ____________________________

    Appears for a split second, then disappears.

    However, the program is listed in the series manager, and the series tag of layered red dots appears, but no programs are added to the scheduled recordings.

    Happens on both DVRs, and ONLY on MSNBC"

    ***************************************************************************************

    Satch.

    ::"

  • LaserManLaserMan Posts: 1
    Apr 04, 2021

    Same thing happened here starting March 29th. I've been going nuts trying to figure this out. Glad to see that it's a Spectrum issue, as it means I don't have to swap my ARRIS whole house DVR for individual Spectrum DVRs.

    I tried deleting series, rebooting DVR, and setting a new series to record, but still having the issue. By using different "end times" on the series, I can tell that the old series was removed and the new one is 'current', but the individual programs are not set to record.

    I'm using the Spectrum Guide, so this is a system-wide issue. Not sure how to get elevated to a tech that knows what it takes to correct the problem.

  • SatchSatch Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭✭
    edited April 5 Apr 05, 2021

    Guys,

    I just tried to set up a series on my Cisco 9865 on MSNBC (running the ODN Guide.) and it did all the correct scheduling as expected. Series Recordings and Series Manager showed the correct series. I was not interested in keeping the series so I deleted it. But it set itself up as expected.

    Thank you for the added information @LaserMan! Welcome to the community! We now know that this is an issue affecting some markets on both the New Spectrum Guide and the ODN software regarding MSNBC series scheduling. LaserMan, So you are running the Arris box? Is it the 3600? If both you and @falcon04 have the same Arris 3600-M model, perhaps this could be narrowed down to box model in some markets, or guide data in some markets?

    Regards,

    Satch

  • James_MJames_M Posts: 2,753 ADMIN
    edited April 5 Apr 05, 2021

    @LaserMan

    Sorry for any service issues. I have a couple follow up questions to help determine if this issue is potentially impacting others or isolated to a couple of users.

    • What is your zip code?
    • What is the total percent available on the DVR?
    • Does this happen with recording series only or recording individual programs too?


    Thanks!

  • James_MJames_M Posts: 2,753 ADMIN
    Apr 05, 2021

    @LaserMan and @falcon04

    In addition to my questions above, what is the program(s) that you are trying to record?

  • falcon04falcon04 Posts: 18 ✭✭✭
    Apr 05, 2021

    (1) 28226

    (2) 80% plus available both DVR

    (3) Series only - will take individual programs

    (4) Any MSNBC ( ch 50 - Charlotte ), no other channels.

  • James_MJames_M Posts: 2,753 ADMIN
    Apr 05, 2021

    @falcon04

    Thanks. In your area, MSNBC is also available on channel 203. Does the same issue occur on channel 203?

  • falcon04falcon04 Posts: 18 ✭✭✭
    Apr 05, 2021

    203 same as 50

  • James_MJames_M Posts: 2,753 ADMIN
    Apr 06, 2021

    Thanks.

    @LaserMan, are you seeing the issue on both channels as well?

  • Julia_RJulia_R Posts: 4,579 Lead Mod
    Apr 08, 2021

    Good morning All!

    We wanted to let you know that this issue with recording series on MSNBC has been

    reviewed and looks like it has been resolved. Are either of you able to test that for us

    and let us know your findings?


    Look forward to hearing from you!

    Julia_R

  • falcon04falcon04 Posts: 18 ✭✭✭
    Apr 08, 2021

    Sorry to report - not fixed.


    "Settings--Reboot" tried as well as a number of programs on 50 - same result on 203.

  • James_MJames_M Posts: 2,753 ADMIN
    Apr 09, 2021

    Since the issue has been identified as resolved, please try manually restarting the equipment by unplugging and plugging back in to ensure that any updates have been pushed through. Next steps would be to schedule a service call. Thanks!

  • falcon04falcon04 Posts: 18 ✭✭✭
    Apr 10, 2021

    Tried every which way on both DVRS - No reboot, hot reboot, cold reboot, reenter program from Guide and Search - it's just not fixed. Has LaserMan responded ?

  • Julia_RJulia_R Posts: 4,579 Lead Mod
    Apr 10, 2021


    I do not see any new activity from LaserMan. Can you check CNBC for me? It was in this ticket

    that series recordings were also not working for this channel. When you go to set up the series, do you

    already have some of the individual airings set up for recording? If you do can I ask that you remove those and then try again to set them up as a series.


    Julia_R

  • SatchSatch Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭✭
    edited April 10 Apr 10, 2021

    I do not see any new activity from LaserMan. Can you check CNBC for me? It was in this ticket

    that series recordings were also not working for this channel. When you go to set up the series, do you

    already have some of the individual airings set up for recording? If you do can I ask that you remove those and then try again to set them up as a series.


    Greetings Julia,

    Actually the channel in question was/is MSNBC (Not CNBC) on Arris boxes running both Spectrum Guide/ODN software in selected markets.

    Your advice sounds like a good idea, remove the individual recordings on MSNBC and try to set them up again this time as a series.

    DId personnel report back saying what the problem was with that channel? Or did they just say, it's fixed?

    Satch

  • falcon04falcon04 Posts: 18 ✭✭✭
    Apr 10, 2021

    Been there, done that. Was one of my first fix attempts. I believe my DVR's are haunted by the ghost of Roger Ailes ! 😣

  • SatchSatch Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭✭
    Apr 11, 2021

    Hey @falcon04,

    You may want to set up a service call just to report this if you do a lot of MSNBC series recording. Point the tech to this thread, because obviously there are still some customers out there for which this is not fixed. I would not recommend a different model box for an issue with one channel! You never know what you are going to get in an exchange, and since you have the Arris 3600, you will be forced down to two-tuners with a legacy box or 4 tuners with a World Box. You can set up the service call, but just say to the tech, "I don't want my box swapped". In the meantime, just set your MSNBC shows to record individually.

    Satch

  • Julia_RJulia_R Posts: 4,579 Lead Mod
    edited April 11 Apr 11, 2021


    Good morning!

    With all respect, I disagree with Satchs recommendation for a tech visit. They are not going to be able to address this. This is not caused by a physical issue that the technician can help with. (provided it is not found to be a box issue, it does not appear to be that) I have let our teams know that this is still happening, we would like to collect more examples.


    @Satch The reason i asked about CNBC is because the ticket that was opened mentioned both channels. Not everyone will be using both channels so I wanted to find out if that channel had been an issue as well as MSNBC.


    If there is anyone here in the Community also experiencing this, please do speak up here so we can

    collect that.


    I hope you all are having a good spring day!

    Julia_R

  • Julia_RJulia_R Posts: 4,579 Lead Mod
    Apr 11, 2021

    Some good news first, this is still under investigation. We have received other reports via our video teams so the specialists are digging deeper to get this resolved. It is still on our radar!


    I did some looking this morning @falcon04 after @Satch mentioned a tech visit, I was able to locate your account via your registration info, looking at the connection to your DVR I am seeing a lot of T4 timeouts as well as the box dropping into one way mode. While this is not going to be something that will cause

    a problem with recording series on only one channel, this can definitely cause numerous other issues. What I mean by One Way mode is that the DVR is not able to communicate back to us, only receive the information.

    This connectivity issue can be addressed by a technician. If you would like to do that with us here please let me know, I can move this to our Follow Up area and get that going.


    Julia_R

Sign In or Register to comment.