Before posting a new question, please check out our Internet / WiFi and Spectrum TV App troubleshooting pages for common issues, as well as useful information to include in your post.

Advanced Search Options


We have advanced search options to make it easier to locate posts, questions and answers on this community.
More information can be found at Advanced Search Options
If you are looking for something specific, please check if someone else has already asked or answered the same question.
Hurricane Ian: We're tracking Ian and will keep you posted as it affects your area. Get storm tips and updates.

Digital phone only? No regular phone (POTS) connectivity?

BeaglemaniaBeaglemania Posts: 4 Spectator
edited August 9 in Digital Phone Jul 10, 2022

I was told by the Service Rep that I signed up for Voice/ phone service that there were 2 options, regular phone connection (I assumed that this meant phone jack) or the VOIP connectivity. The term digital phone was not used by her. I don't own a cordless phone, only a traditional one, so of course I asked for the first one. But when I connected the phone to the wall jack NOTHING happened. I waited for the service to start, but it never did. I also called Spectrum but didn't get through to a CSR for Voice. I was not on line yesterday but today when I went to this website, it turned out that I cannot connect any other way than through a Modem! I never intended to have to go out and buy a new phone because I was told there was an alternative. This was MISINFORMATION, and I'm really frustrated.

Wondering if Voice service IS ACTUALLY AVAILABLE with a traditional connection IN SOME SERVED AREAS of the country, and so at least she was partially correct? Also, does Spectrum give you the option to buy a 'digital phone' (at a decent price) from the local Store (brick& mortar) if needed?

Accepted Answers

  • Renee_TRenee_T Posts: 328 Moderator
    Jul 11, 2022 Answer ✓

    Hello @Beaglemania !


    Welcome to our community! I apologize for any confusion with our home phone service. The service should be compatible with your phone even if it is not cordless. On the back of your modem, there would be a phone jack labeled "Phone 1" that you would be able to connect the phone to, just like you would a wall jack. An appointment can be set up to have a technician set up a wall jack for active phone service, but there may be a charge associated with that option. If you connect the phone to the Phone 1 jack on the modem, what happens when you pick up? Do you get a dial tone?

  • Randy_SRandy_S Posts: 370 Moderator
    Jul 11, 2022 Answer ✓

    Hey @Beaglemania! Just wanted to tag on to Renee's response and add that you should be able to run a phone wire from Phone 1 on the back of your modem to the nearest wall jack and it should fire up the rest of the jacks in the house. We do not install jacks but our tech could take a look at existing jacks and it would be at their discretion on whether to assess a trip charge or not.

    But, over all of that, I also agree with Renee and apologize for the miscommunication or what seems to be a lack of communication.

    Randy

  • Randy_SRandy_S Posts: 370 Moderator
    Jul 11, 2022 Answer ✓

    @Beaglemania ... I am sorry to hear that. Our techs do not install new jacks (double checked and that is the case) so I actually would not recommend a tech visit because they wouldn't be able to accomplish that and you could use that trip charge ($49.99) toward a new cordless phone. Now, if you have your phone hooked up directly to the Phone 1 jack on the back of the modem and not getting a dial tone, then we would need to reboot and do some troubleshooting but if there is only one jack in the apartment, it may be best to go the cordless route or see if the apartment complex would install a jack near where the modem is installed.

    I certainly understand needing your bubble to have access. It will happen and hope this clarification/information helps.

    Randy

  • Randy_SRandy_S Posts: 370 Moderator
    Jul 11, 2022 Answer ✓

    With a name like @Beaglemania how could I be anything but sympathetic! I love that name. I also love my phone so I get it :)

    Let us know how it goes, especially if you need further help firing up the dial tone coming through Phone 1 jack on the modem.

    Thanks, Nina!

    Randy

Replies

  • BeaglemaniaBeaglemania Posts: 4 Spectator
    Jul 11, 2022

    Renee and Randy: Thanks very much for your responses and clarification. I'm sorry to report though that my phone still didn't get a dial tone when I followed your instruction: I also tried rebooting the modem with the phone wire connected to the modem phone jack ("Voice One") and that didn't work either. Randy, I like your suggestion but unfortunately I live in an apartment, NOT a house, and there is only 1 wall phone jack existing. It seems like I must choose between having a tech person come over to see if this jack is able to be adjusted or not, for a standard fee, or going ahead and buying a new cordless (or maybe a gently used one at a thrift store...). How much iwould the tech coming over cost in Cleveland, OH? Do either of you know this at all? It's really frustrating, if only because I was really counting on having home phone service again after 2 1/2 months, and had in advance given out my new phone number to a few folks in my 'bubble'.

  • BeaglemaniaBeaglemania Posts: 4 Spectator
    Jul 11, 2022

    @Randy_S O.K., that's what I needed to hear. It sounded like thet weren't going to be able to do it, just wanted to be sure. Just to make sure that my analog phone itself wasn't the problem (it's about 4 years old & has had LOTS of use) I went ahead and did the following: connected a new (same strength/ type of cord) cord to connect phone with the modem, AND I put new batteries in (for the caller ID and other 'digital' functions) the phone is in good shape. Oh well...guess it's time to get out the wallet & get more 'up-to-date' telephony. Again, thanks for the advice and problem solving. And your sympathetic outlook also.🙂

    Nina

  • BeaglemaniaBeaglemania Posts: 4 Spectator
    Jul 15, 2022

    @Randy_S Hello again, the 'story continues'.. First of all, thank you again for your support and advice. I do love beagles, but also love dogs in general... I went out and got a good cordless phone, plugged in and charged the phone, then connected it to my Spectrum modem (getting excited, but still cautious) VOICE 1 jack, and....No Dial Tone. 🙁 Rebooted the modem, still doesn't get a dial tone. I don't get it! Why is it not connecting? Any assistance you or anyone out there can give would be great! Also, just so I know, does Spectrum not send out any kind of 'welcome to Voice' e-mail or letter when you, as a customer, ADD a service to an existing account? I was surprised when I didn't get that.

  • Randy_SRandy_S Posts: 370 Moderator
    Jul 15, 2022

    Good morning, @Beaglemania! I love that you love all dogs. Me too. I have two furkids myself. What I am going to do is send you a private message from our Community_Help handle so we can verify your account info and dive into this. Expect that message in the next five or so minutes.

    We will get this figured out and working,

    Randy

This discussion has been closed.