Before posting a new question, please check out our Internet / WiFi and Spectrum TV App troubleshooting pages for common issues, as well as useful information to include in your post.

Advanced Search Options


We have advanced search options to make it easier to locate posts, questions and answers on this community.
More information can be found at Advanced Search Options
If you are looking for something specific, please check if someone else has already asked or answered the same question.

Replaced Arris Modem and SW Download Failure

nhraj700nhraj700 Posts: 6 Spectator
in Connectivity Aug 30, 2022

Last Wednesday August 24, I replaced our outdated Arris SB6141 with a Arris SB6183. Our service has went from 100 Mbps to 200 Mbps over the last 4 months. The old SB6141 handled that upgrade fine. But then the announcement from Kathleen Griffin stating our service got 50% faster by an immediate 300 Mbps upgrade. The old "unsupported" SB6141 did not handle that, hence the upgrade of our modem to the Spectrum supported SB6183. I used the activate[dot]Spectrum[dot]net page and all was successful. We now have 330 Mbps speeds.

My question is that on the Friday after our upgrade we are repeatedly seeing this message in the event logs. It happens once every day.

Fri Aug 26 02:32:02 2022 Error (4) SW Upgrade Failed Before Download - Server not Present

Fri Aug 26 02:31:31 2022 Notice (6) SW Download INIT - Via NMS

Is this something to be concerned with? Our speeds are matching the service stated in the billing.

TIA

Replies

  • William_MWilliam_M Posts: 396 Moderator
    Aug 31, 2022

    Hi @nhraj700, welcome to our community!

    I was able to locate your account and I do see the modems log is indicating it is has been failing to download a software update. It doesn't look like the modem has been reset since it was added. I recommend rebooting the modem by removing the power cord for 30 seconds before plugging it back in, and making sure the coaxial cable is firmly connected to the modem and wall outlet, to ensure a good connection so that the software can be downloaded.

  • nhraj700nhraj700 Posts: 6 Spectator
    Aug 31, 2022

    Thank you William_M for looking into this for me. I took your advice and restarted it. It looks like the updates gets pushed 02:30 my time. If the SW update is successful tomorrow morning, what is the message I should be looking for?

    This is the event log after the reboot. I zeroed out the MAC addresses. Anything you see that is out of the ordinary? (e.g Missing BP Configuration Setting, Ranging errors)

    Thanks!



    Wed Aug 31 08:21:59 2022

    Error (4)

    Missing BP Configuration Setting TLV Type: 17.9;CM-MAC=00:00:00:00:00:00;CMTS-MAC=00:00:00:00:00:00;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

    Wed Aug 31 08:21:59 2022

    Error (4)

    Missing BP Configuration Setting TLV Type: 17.8;CM-MAC=00:00:00:00:00:00;CMTS-MAC=00:00:00:00:00:00;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

    Wed Aug 31 08:21:59 2022

    Error (4)

    Missing BP Configuration Setting TLV Type: 17.3;CM-MAC=00:00:00:00:00:00;CMTS-MAC=00:00:00:00:00:00;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

    Time Not Established

    Notice (6)

    Honoring MDD; IP provisioning mode = APM

    Fri Aug 26 17:33:11 2022

    Critical (3)

    Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging - No Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=00:00:00:00:00:00;CMTS-MAC=00:00:00:00:00:00;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

    Thu Aug 25 18:20:06 2022

    Critical (3)

    Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging - No Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=00:00:00:00:00:00;CMTS-MAC=00:00:00:00:00:00;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

    Time Not Established

    Critical (3)

    No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

    Wed Aug 24 16:25:02 2022

    Critical (3)

    Resetting the cable modem due to docsDevResetNow

    Time Not Established

    Critical (3)

    DHCP FAILED - Discover sent, no offer received;CM-MAC=00:00:00:00:00:00;CMTS-MAC=00:00:00:00:00:00;CM-QOS=1.0;CM-VER=3.0;

    Time Not Established

    Critical (3)

    DHCP failed - DHCP Solicit sent, No DHCP Advertise received;CM-MAC=00:00:00:00:00:00;CMTS-MAC=00:00:00:00:00:00;CM-QOS=1.0;CM-VER=3.0;

    Time Not Established

    Critical (3)

    No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

    Time Not Established

    Critical (3)

    SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Failed to acquire FEC framing;CM-MAC=00:00:00:00:00:00;CMTS-MAC=00:00:00:00:00:00;CM-QOS=1.0;CM-VER=3.0;

    Time Not Established

    Critical (3)

    SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Failed to acquire QAM/QPSK symbol timing;;CM-MAC=00:00:00:00:00:00;CMTS-MAC=00:00:00:00:00:00;CM-QOS=1.0;CM-VER=3.0;

    Time Not Established

    Critical (3)

    SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Failed to acquire FEC framing;CM-MAC=00:00:00:00:00:00;CMTS-MAC=00:00:00:00:00:00;CM-QOS=1.0;CM-VER=3.0;

    Time Not Established

    Critical (3)

    SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Failed to acquire QAM/QPSK symbol timing;;CM-MAC=00:00:00:00:00:00;CMTS-MAC=00:00:00:00:00:00;CM-QOS=1.0;CM-VER=3.0;

  • nhraj700nhraj700 Posts: 6 Spectator
    Sep 01, 2022

    Well @William_M, the reboot didn't solve the problem as the same SW error message happened again this morning at 0200.. I am wondering if it is a local Spectrum problem. What server is not present? I am not running a server. Does that missing Missing BP Configuration Setting TLV have any tie to it? Any more ideas?

    As an aside, I had a Spectrum Technician out when I had heard on one of our Reno TV stations that we were being upgraded to 200 Mbps as a base speed. I had the technician give it a once over to find out why I wasn't getting the 200 Mbps. Unbeknownst to me and him, the rollout in our local area was severely delayed. But according to him, our service was in tip top shape with good values on power and noise. He did say for me to upgrade the modem down the line which I did.

    I also shutdown my modem and router and computer and fired them up in the same order just now. Still a missing BP config file.

  • Randy_SRandy_S Posts: 367 Moderator
    Sep 01, 2022

    Hi @nhraj700 . I did some digging around with info I obtained from your registration credentials and discovered your Arris SB6183 modem is a docsis 3.0 modem. It is a third party modem so I can't get into it but the software issue may be it trying to upgrade to docsis 3.1 (our new minimum for a while now) and not being able to do so. Or some sort of download the modem needs to function. We have been actively replacing docsis 3.0 modems everywhere we can and no longer have them as an install option. At some point they will stop working if they cannot upgrade to 3.1 or higher.

    So next suggested steps would be to talk with the manufacturer of your modem to see if it will upgrade to docsis 3.1. I have a feeling that may be the cause of the message you are seeing. If not, Arris' customer support should be able to enlighten more on what is happening.

    If that doesn't work out, you can get a new modem with us at a local store (if you are the account holder or authorized user) and there isn't a monthly modem fee; it is provided for free while you have service with us. If you are also using a separate wifi router, you may want to make sure it can pull down the 300 speeds as well. Our wifi service is $5 a month and if that is the route you would like, you can also grab that at a local store as well.

    And as always, if anyone else has some insights or wisdom to share... go for it.

    Randy

  • HT_GreenfieldHT_Greenfield Posts: 67 Contributor
    edited September 2 Sep 02, 2022

    Just curious if it did a successful SW download or anything else on Thursday, August 25th?

    Just for whatever it's worth: Long story, short, as far as i know, DOCSIS 3.0 modems can’t be updated to DOCSIS 3.1 via software or firmware. The 1 Gbps tier requires DOCIS 3.1 but I’m not aware of any cable ISP’s pushing or requiring DOCSIS 3.1 for lower tiers although they might be for the 500 Mbps tier. It seems to me, maybe depending on where you live, DOCSIS 3.0 may actually be required for at least some of the lower tiers. Clearly Spectrum is requiring some older DOCSIS 3.0 modems that were approved for lower tiers to be upgraded to newer DOCSIS 3.0 modems in order to support the new or forthcoming 300 Mbps tier but i’m not aware that DOCSIS 3.1 is required or would even work for that. I could be wrong & some of this may just depend on the service location.

  • RAIST5150RAIST5150 Posts: 868 Contributor
    Sep 02, 2022

    Yeah... 6183 is a 16x4 3.0 modem... no OFDM support, so technically caps out in the 680-ish range. More realistically, around 340.


    It is a Broadcom chip though, with a gig of DDR3 memory. Provided it latches clean channels it should manage 320 or so well... provided there isn't a lot of congestion/noise popping up.


    Having 24 or 32 channels would make a HUGE difference in consistently pulling down 260+ though. Of course a 3.1 with at least downstream ODFM support is the more ideal option... but still a bit pricey for BYO.

    If you do go the personal router route, may want to make sure you have a quad core CPU if you have a lot of devices... a dual core may cause some noticable lagging/dips in throughput.

  • nhraj700nhraj700 Posts: 6 Spectator
    Sep 02, 2022

    Hi @Randy_S Well that's weird, the Spectrum Technician a couple of months ago directed me to get the SB6183 and said it would be good for the 300 speeds that were just implemented. I also looked at the Spectrum Approved Modem list and found it was also supported. I don't have a problem with download speeds. Just checked and I am getting 320-330. I was more concerned with the message. But if it's not hurting anything I guess I won't worry about it.

    I'll try your suggestion to see if Arris has any ideas, but they state they don't do software, only the providers can do that.

  • nhraj700nhraj700 Posts: 6 Spectator
    Sep 03, 2022

    @Randy_S I posted the question in the Arris community, but all I received was try a factory reset which I did and it didn't help. Same error message this morning. I've searched for this event messages and can't find any mentions of it. I wished someone had documented these black box messages.

    Sat Sep 03 01:48:21 2022 Error (4) SW Upgrade Failed Before Download - Server not Present

    Sat Sep 03 01:47:50 2022 Notice (6) SW Download INIT - Via NMS

  • Steph_SSteph_S Posts: 442 Moderator
    Sep 05, 2022

    Thank you for the update. Unfortunately, at this time I would ask that you contact the Arris for additional support as there seems to be something failing and we are unable to provide support for the Arris router as it is not our hardware. I do apologize.

Sign In or Register to comment.