Before posting a new question, please check out our Internet / WiFi and Spectrum TV App troubleshooting pages for common issues, as well as useful information to include in your post.

Advanced Search Options


We have advanced search options to make it easier to locate posts, questions and answers on this community.
More information can be found at Advanced Search Options
If you are looking for something specific, please check if someone else has already asked or answered the same question.

Frequently Asked Questions


(Quick links to the current most searched topics)
How can I pause and rewind live TV using the Spectrum TV app?
Spectrum TV App Supported Devices

Why am I being forced to "upgrade" to a new modem? I have my own installed and it works just fine.

phloxthefloweryphloxtheflowery Posts: 2 Spectator
edited January 18 in Home Networking Dec 21, 2022

I got this email this morning:

Dear Customer, In order to ensure that you continue to receive the best Internet service available, as well as protect the overall health of the network for you and others in your area, we will be sending you a new modem at no cost to you. The new modem will replace your existing equipment. It will deliver improved capacity and bandwidth and can be easily self-installed. Simple step-by-step instructions are included, so you can make the upgrade in minutes – no technician necessary. Replace your modem as soon as possible, as your existing equipment will no longer support your Internet service and your service will be interrupted on or after 01/04/23 . If you have any questions about how to install your new equipment, go to Spectrum.net/easyinstall. You will find a brief video with simple step-by-step instructions and other installation support information. Thank you for being a Spectrum customer. Sincerely, Kathleen Griffin VP, Marketing Communications

I've had my own modem installed since i started the service. I can change the settings on it, open/close ports, set it up so my home network still functions. I've had very few issues since starting my service. Why am I now not allowed to have my own modem? I HAVE to use the one being sent?? What gives? I don't want it and i resent being forced to switch.


(Also, i know it's not a fake email because i can log into my spectrum account and see the tracking number for the modem)

Best Answer

  • Tyleen_ZTyleen_Z Posts: 528 Moderator
    Dec 22, 2022 Answer ✓

    Hello and welcome to the Spectrum Community. We are sending anyone that does not have a compatible modem an upgraded modem. You are welcome to keep using yours as long as it is compatible with the level of service you subscribe to. We are upgrading all customers to a Docsis 3.1 modem. If your modem is not a Docsis 3.1 we would recommend purchasing one that is if you do not want to use our modem.

    Once you get the modem you can either refuse the delivery or take it to a UPS Store or Spectrum store.

    -Tyleen

Replies

  • SatchSatch Posts: 4,861 Contributor
    Dec 22, 2022

    Hi @phloxtheflowery,

    Yes, Spectrum is looking to replace older customer-owned modems with the new Docsis 3.1 technology. It's a division by division situation. I know customers with mobility issues. (Disabilities.). Would a tech be able to come out to swap the modem if they could not replace it themselves?

    My advice is, if you get a new modem and especially if it is a self-install, wait for a good week to make sure it works before taking the old one back. (I don't know if a truck roll tech would consent to that or not.) I know that Spectrum always includes a free modem with services.

    Satch

  • phloxthefloweryphloxtheflowery Posts: 2 Spectator
    Dec 22, 2022

    Maybe include all that in the email. Or a link to it or something at least.

  • HT_GreenfieldHT_Greenfield Posts: 197 Contributor
    Dec 22, 2022

    They're talking about your DOCSIS modem, not your router. You mess with settings and ports on your router, not your modem.

  • SatchSatch Posts: 4,861 Contributor
    Dec 22, 2022

    Thanks @HT_Greenfield ,

    Yes, we are talking about the modem. Not the router. It's possible that the OP has an older DOCSIS 2.0 modem, and they aren't supporting that version after January 4, 2023, so user has to have at least a DOCSIS 3.0 modem. (3.1 will be needed for some higher speeds if OP is subscribed to a higher speed plan.)

    Spectrum now gives out DOCSIS 3.1 modems.

    Satch

This discussion has been closed.