Latency problems to various sites

Options
Zhain
Zhain Posts: 16 Participant
edited March 26 in Connectivity

Hello!

I live in Upstate NY (Albany area) and lately since this past Tuesday, I've been experiencing spiky ping and latency issues with different services. Mainly this affects me playing the game FFXIV, where unsteady ping can make things near unplayable.

At first I thought it might have been me, so I went through all the troubleshooting steps including restarting modem and router, as well as connecting directly to the modem, etc. Nothing seems to help.

I ran a few traceroutes and downloaded a program called PingPlotter to try and figure out what was happening. From the best I can tell (I'm not an expert), there seems to be a local Spectrum node causing issues. Please see attached pictures for plots of ping tracing to twitter.com and the FFXIV servers. In both cases it is the third hop (lag-62.hlmnnych01h.netops.charter.com).

Is there a way I can ask about node status/routing? I may try a VPN next to see if the routing is truly the issue.

Comments

• RAIST515O
    RAIST515O Posts: 89 Contributor
    Options

Would note they moved hosting for the Americas from Montreal to California years ago... and latency/jitter from the east coast went to crap when it happened, especially during "prime time" and other similar high traffic windows. Took about a year of testing/ tracking /reporting to get routing to the Eidos-Montreal nodes down into the 60's or less from central east coast... and then SE moved them on us when they restructured things because of all the EU issues (they were originally hitting Montreal also).