Welcome to the Spectrum Community

Get answers, share solutions, help your community.

Start here

Home Setup for TV/Internet

jennaricjennaric Posts: 3
in Connectivity Mar 19, 2018

Alright. My home has never had spectrum/twc television service. I have however had their internet for a long time. From the electric line to my junction box on my house there is only one cable, that ultimately leads to my modem. In theory, will this one cable provide BOTH internet and tv service, if say i hooked up a 2/3/4 way splitter into my new HD/DVR boxes or should there be more than one cable from electric lines into my junction box to provide TV as well. Hope this makes sense, thank you. 

Best Answer

  • karlbeckmankarlbeckman Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭✭
    Mar 20, 2018 Accepted Answer

    In addition to what @dstoffa has already said, I sense that you might not realize that you WILL have a Spectrum set-top box for each TV set.  In the past some local channels were carried as SD analog over cable in the clear.  Now ALL channels are being encrypted and transmitted digitally to reduce video piracy (theft of copyrighted video content). 

    The basic rules of multiple service cable installation include:

    1)  The cable modem MUST be connected to a 3.5 dB port on the first two-way splitter from the drop, and

    2)  Only split out as many ports as you have actively used video devices.  No extra ports for spare cable outlets in other rooms; and any open splitter port MUST have a 75 ohm terminator. 

Replies

  • reds91185reds91185 Posts: 2,452
    Mar 19, 2018

    The main incoming coax line would get split with one dedicated leg going to the modem and one leg (or 2 or 3) to your cable boxes for tv service. The leg to the modem would preferably be the split with the least amount of loss.

  • jennaricjennaric Posts: 3
    Mar 19, 2018
    Ok essentially that main line will be hooked up to a 4 way splitter with 3 of those outputs going into TV and the other dedicated to modem. Will let you know how that pans out! Thanks
  • reds91185reds91185 Posts: 2,452
    Mar 19, 2018

    Curious...is this something you're trying to do yourself?  When you get tv service added to your account the tech will do all of this while he's there. 

  • jennaricjennaric Posts: 3
    Mar 19, 2018
    Yeah my junction was never locked. So they had an option to send me the equipment to do myself so figured I'd save the 50 bucks they want to charge to install.
  • dstoffadstoffa Posts: 988 ✭✭✭✭
    Mar 19, 2018

    @jennaricwrote:
    Ok essentially that main line will be hooked up to a 4 way splitter with 3 of those outputs going into TV and the other dedicated to modem. Will let you know how that pans out! Thanks

    Using a four-way splitter is not ideal.  Losses become very important regarding your internet service.  You want to minimize losses to the modem, that means it must be on the -3.5 dB leg of a two-way or three-way spliiter. 

     

    A four-way splitter is really 2 two-way splitters, and each outlet is -7 dB.  A three-way splitter is really a two-way splitter with an additional two-way splitter.  One tap of the 3-way will be -3.5 dB, and the other two will be -7 dB.  You can attach the modem to the -3.5 dB tap, but not the -7 dB tap.

     

    http://eqrunner.com/CrewNotes/CNCoaxsplitter.php

This discussion has been closed.