Welcome to the Spectrum Community

Get answers, share solutions, help your community.

Start here

Latency and Packet Loss Issues with my Internet

fjmunozfjmunoz Posts: 4
in Connectivity Jun 15, 2018

I've been having issues with dropped frames while I stream and latency issues when I game online. My connection never disconnects and my speed is fine. Every 30 seconds or so my latency will spike from a regular 30ms to about 250-300ms for a second or two. If I stream on Twitch or Youtube I constantly drop frames and the video feed looks choppy.

I've ran ping and traceroute tests on my command prompt and they all point to packet loss issues. I've had 3 techs come out to my building and only one said that he detected any packet loss. They've swapped my modem, replaced cables and checked the outside line for tap/splitter problems but I continue to have issues.

I called to have my service canceled because I was being charged $50 when the tech found "no problems" and they offered to upgrade my service for free and remove the charge. When the tech came to install the new service, he was sub-contracted by Spectrum and only installed the new modem and refused to check out my issues. 

The problem continues and I feel like my pleas are falling on deaf ears. I'm at my wits end and just want someone to confirm what is causing this problem.

Is there anything I can do?

Comments

  • fjmunozfjmunoz Posts: 4
    Jun 15, 2018
    1. Austin, TX 78749 - Apartment Complex
    2. Internet Only - 400 mpbs down
    3. Arris TM1602
    4. Sagemcom Fast5260
      Modem is Online - Firmware TS0901103J8TW1_010918_1602.TM_PC20_TW
    5. DOWNLOAD
      477.4
      Mbps
      UPLOAD
      23.4
      Mbps
       
    6. I will usually have latency spike while gaming from 30ms to 300ms for 1-2 seconds every 30-50 seconds. Dropped frames when streaming to Twitch or Youtube.
    7. Downstream / Upstream  -   Logs
    8. The cable wiring is complicated for me. The tech said that we weren't on the main line, but a "temporary" line. There are probably about 3 splitters out in the box outside. The modem is connected to the cable line in our bedroom.
    9. We have two computers connected to the router with cat6 cables.
    10. No recent changes. They upgraded us from the 300 mbps to 400 when I expressed my frustration, but the issue remains the same.
    11. Pathping Test
    12. I only notice the problem when playing games or livestreaming. But the packet loss happens all the time. I've run tests at all hours but I usually get the highest loss at peak usage times. 6-9 pm or early 8-10 am.
    13. No background programs.

    Thank you for anyone willing to help.

  • karlbeckmankarlbeckman Posts: 2,205 ✭✭✭✭
    Jun 15, 2018

    @fjmunoz wrote:
    1. Austin, TX 78749 - Apartment Complex
    2. Internet Only - 400 mpbs down
    3. Arris TM1602
    4. Sagemcom Fast5260
      Modem is Online - Firmware TS0901103J8TW1_010918_1602.TM_PC20_TW
    5. DOWNLOAD
      477.4
      Mbps
      UPLOAD
      23.4
      Mbps
       
    6. I will usually have latency spike while gaming from 30ms to 300ms for 1-2 seconds every 30-50 seconds. Dropped frames when streaming to Twitch or Youtube.
    7. Downstream / Upstream  -   Logs
    8. The cable wiring is complicated for me. The tech said that we weren't on the main line, but a "temporary" line. There are probably about 3 splitters out in the box outside. The modem is connected to the cable line in our bedroom.
    9. We have two computers connected to the router with cat6 cables.
    10. No recent changes. They upgraded us from the 300 mbps to 400 when I expressed my frustration, but the issue remains the same.
    11. Pathping Test
    12. I only notice the problem when playing games or livestreaming. But the packet loss happens all the time. I've run tests at all hours but I usually get the highest loss at peak usage times. 6-9 pm or early 8-10 am.
    13. No background programs.

    Thank you for anyone willing to help.


    To quickly summarize, you used to have 300/20 service but the local service team could not make that work to your satisfaction.  Someone then decided they would provide you a faster speed tier, at no extra charge? 

     

    According to the Speedtest numbers in your response #5, you ARE receiving 400/20 service over your present connection, so you should not have had a 300/20 speed issue previously, and you don't have one now. 

     

    Your complaint now is about a periodic delay that causes 'jitter' when gaming, especially during evening peak times.  Please list the hops on your pathping plot that show excessive delays or packet loss, by device name and IP address.  Spectrum will need the device name and IP of each device that shows long delay or packet loss, plus the next TWO sites past that. 

    One other item - Do you pay your Spectrum bill directly, or is it included in your monthly rent?  If the apartment complex owns the lines and equipment, this will make a difference if drop line losses contribute to the performance issue. 

  • RAIST5150RAIST5150 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭✭
    Jun 15, 2018
    Looks like your losses may be starting around 3 or 4 hops out... which may not be local segments--or even Spectrum for that matter. That image was too fuzzy to make out specific numbers when I pulled it up on my phone. Also looks like it may be IPv6 routing which can throw a wrench in things depending on compliance levels in play.

    Perhaps just run a tracert instead of pathping and just copy/paste that report directly in your post? Much shorter report, will typically run faster, and often gives enough info to narrow down potential trouble spots.

    You can just grab the text by right-clicking within the cmd prompt window for a context menu. "Select All" will grab every bit of text in the window (can use the cls command to clear all text before running a trace so you just grab that relevant data). "Mark" will allow you to left-click/shift-click and drag to highlight specific text just like in any other text editor. Whichever command you choose, once you have what you want to grab highlighted, hitting the enter/return key on your keyboard copies the hilighted text to clipboard so you can paste it into something else. If you are running the tools from a terminal in your router's GUI, you may be able to copy/paste like you normally would in most Windows apps... or there may be a button to dump the data to a file, where you can copy/paste from there.

    The idea is to grab just the relevant text and paste it directly in your posts. Not only does it make it easier for viewers to read, but the Community Managers can also grab that data directly and forward it for escalation through appropriate channels when necessary.

    I know it may sound strange... but have you tested stability using only IPv4 so that you are running on just an IPv4 route? (Disable v6 in the router, or manually point to v4 DNS, etc. --Note this may introduce a need to manually port forward or use UPnP for the streaming or certain online games). Just curious if perhaps there may in fact be an issue bound to an IPv6 stack compliance angle.
  • fjmunozfjmunoz Posts: 4
    Jun 16, 2018

    Here's a tracert test that I ran 3 times back to back.

    So the problem is that sometimes the test will show good number like in the first test, but whenever I experience spikes or issues it will show like test 2 and 3 as shown on hops 9/10.

    The problem seems to occur every 40 seconds or so, so sometimes the tests don't catch the moment when the issue happens.

     

     

    Tracing route to spectrum.com [142.136.168.7]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms HG6Box [192.168.1.1]
    2 21 ms 14 ms 18 ms cpe-70-114-224-1.austin.res.rr.com [70.114.224.1]
    3 34 ms 32 ms 33 ms tge0-0-4.trswtx1201h.texas.rr.com [66.68.2.221]
    4 23 ms 49 ms 21 ms agg33.ausutxla01r.texas.rr.com [24.175.43.241]
    5 25 ms 23 ms 23 ms agg22.dllatxl301r.texas.rr.com [24.175.41.46]
    6 33 ms 41 ms 21 ms 66.109.1.216
    7 40 ms 41 ms 45 ms be7.ar3.pkv01.tbone.rr.com [66.109.10.97]
    8 36 ms 43 ms 39 ms be3.ar1.pkv01.tbone.rr.com [66.109.10.103]
    9 35 ms 47 ms 39 ms 66.109.6.247
    10 50 ms 35 ms 37 ms 165-237-51-219.twcable.com [165.237.51.219]
    11 42 ms 45 ms 36 ms 165-237-100-37.twcable.com [165.237.100.37]
    12 39 ms 40 ms 33 ms www.timewarnerpowerhouse.com [142.136.168.7]

    Trace complete.

    C:\Users\havee>tracert spectrum.com

    Tracing route to spectrum.com [142.136.168.7]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms HG6Box [192.168.1.1]
    2 13 ms 17 ms 17 ms cpe-70-114-224-1.austin.res.rr.com [70.114.224.1]
    3 28 ms 32 ms 32 ms tge0-0-4.trswtx1201h.texas.rr.com [66.68.2.221]
    4 16 ms 25 ms 23 ms agg33.ausutxla01r.texas.rr.com [24.175.43.241]
    5 32 ms 26 ms 21 ms agg22.dllatxl301r.texas.rr.com [24.175.41.46]
    6 26 ms 30 ms 23 ms 66.109.1.216
    7 40 ms 49 ms 42 ms be7.ar3.pkv01.tbone.rr.com [66.109.10.97]
    8 42 ms 38 ms 38 ms be3.ar1.pkv01.tbone.rr.com [66.109.10.103]
    9 39 ms 33 ms 39 ms 66.109.6.247
    10 44 ms * 44 ms 165-237-51-219.twcable.com [165.237.51.219]
    11 46 ms 42 ms 39 ms 165-237-100-37.twcable.com [165.237.100.37]
    12 43 ms 38 ms 40 ms www.timewarnerpowerhouse.com [142.136.168.7]

    Trace complete.

    C:\Users\havee>tracert spectrum.com

    Tracing route to spectrum.com [142.136.168.7]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms HG6Box [192.168.1.1]
    2 16 ms 19 ms 23 ms cpe-70-114-224-1.austin.res.rr.com [70.114.224.1]
    3 30 ms 43 ms 33 ms tge0-0-4.trswtx1201h.texas.rr.com [66.68.2.221]
    4 23 ms 23 ms 17 ms agg33.ausutxla01r.texas.rr.com [24.175.43.241]
    5 31 ms 30 ms 64 ms agg22.dllatxl301r.texas.rr.com [24.175.41.46]
    6 42 ms 29 ms 31 ms 66.109.1.216
    7 35 ms 43 ms 41 ms be7.ar3.pkv01.tbone.rr.com [66.109.10.97]
    8 41 ms 68 ms 44 ms be3.ar1.pkv01.tbone.rr.com [66.109.10.103]
    9 128 ms 68 ms 37 ms 66.109.6.247
    10 41 ms 166 ms 81 ms 165-237-51-219.twcable.com [165.237.51.219]
    11 36 ms 35 ms 44 ms 165-237-100-37.twcable.com [165.237.100.37]
    12 34 ms 36 ms 43 ms www.timewarnerpowerhouse.com [142.136.168.7]

    Trace complete.

  • fjmunozfjmunoz Posts: 4
    Jun 16, 2018
    I disabled IPv6 and ran everything under IPv4 with the same issues occurring..
  • RAIST5150RAIST5150 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭✭
    Jun 16, 2018

    uggh... unfortunately, an all too familiar tale may be playing out in those reports:

     

    looks like maybe trouble around the Austin and Denver areas.... roughly.

     

    Some regularly challenged areas in general, not just for the TWC/Spectrum camp.  Was actually poking around Austin earlier for a friend earlier today.  AT&T nodes were barely scratching out around 25mbps with 70-80ms ping times for me from here in South Carolina.  In contrast, Sprint and UT Austin were both knocking down 105mbps with 60-ish pings.

     

    Haven't had reason to test through Colorado in a long time (haven't played Destiny in a while, and was sometimes shunt through there on the way to Seattle).  It was sometimes a bit troublesome coming through there also.  There was a spot near Oklahoma that went AWOL on us one summer when a Google Fiber trunk got cut.... that was a rough 10 days until that got resolved.  Strange things happen out there on the web, and the ripples can extend a long way out and take a while to clear up.

     

    Was usually either xo.net or Zayo carrying us through those legs up towards Seattle... when I got slung along a southern path through Texas, it was always good getting to the Austin area, then it went south after the IXP to another ISP.  It is just something about that region... IDK if it is stemming out form San Antonio, or if it is something sloughing off the Oklahoma City/Kansas City saturation.... just seems liket that little triangle down there can become a bottleneck for crosscountry transit.

     

    One thing did look a bit odd.  Not entierly sure, but something perhaps Tier3 could look into.  Might be a risk of some circular routing starting up trying to get out of Texas.  We have seen this happen in Ohio before.  Got pretty ugly sometimes, so was pretty obvious.  But at a quick glance on the surface, it looks like there may be something trying to bog things down either getting out of the triad down there, or perhaps it is up there around the Denver region... hard to say since there is some weirdness in different spots of the route.  Where you see the dropped packet isn't necessarily always where the trouble first originates.

     

    If it is indeed happening, they need to get proactive on addressing it.  Hop for hop the latency isn't bad, but think of it kind of like a plane stuck in a holding pattern trying to land.  They can't let you land just yet, and can't just stop you until congestion clears, and can't just shoot you to another landing strip, so they loop you around until they can find a slot to let you land.

     

    Not exactly what is going on, but sort of a layman's way to demonstrate the problem.  It is more like an unluckily timed stall of sorts somewhere in a series of planned nodes, and the data appears to sort of bounce around until something fails bad enough for the packets to finally take a detour and take a different path.  Even just a "short" unexpected detour/loop in the route can have an impact when it is critical data... multiple loops and you may really start to feel it.  If it is starting to happen, need to get someone on it before it does get out of hand.

     

    Perhaps if MrsRaye comes in the thread, we can get a more informed opinion on that possibility---has seen a lot of it in the past.  It just looks kind of odd to me, and makes me wonder...

  • Ctt1955Ctt1955 Posts: 2
    Jun 16, 2018
    Peak times is when everyone I know has issues. Even ones paying extra for the mbps upgrade. Since Spectrum switched me from TWC to their service, i’ve has issues everyday with multiple channels, Internet and etc. good luck
  • karlbeckmankarlbeckman Posts: 2,205 ✭✭✭✭
    Jun 16, 2018

    If the data pipe is blocked or slow at peak times, a faster connection speed doesn't make any difference.  Who is telling Spectrum's customers that upgrading to a faster speed will fix their jitter or router congestion issues elsewhere in the network?

  • RAIST5150RAIST5150 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭✭
    Jun 18, 2018

    @karlbeckman wrote:

    If the data pipe is blocked or slow at peak times, a faster connection speed doesn't make any difference.  Who is telling Spectrum's customers that upgrading to a faster speed will fix their jitter or router congestion issues elsewhere in the network?


    Unfortunately, it is a way too common misconception out there.  REALLY bad out on the gaming forums.  I think a lot of it probably stems from how long "speed" has been used to.describe "bandwidth" or "throughput".

     

    There are examples I have seen that involve vehicles on the freeway.  Imagine a civic vs a bus both travelling 80 on the freeway.  Barring any traffic jams and such that would delay/slow them down, both vehicles can get two people between the same points A and B in the same amount of time, because they are both travelling the same speed with the same delays along the prescribed route.  Just because one has the potential of carrying 80 passengers while the other does not does not actually make just two people get there any faster.

     

    Provided the package can be sent in the same number of cycles, it is more about transit delays than the capacity of the vehicle (or the bandwidth/throughput of the line).

  • JAAS666JAAS666 Posts: 18
    Jul 10, 2018

    Was this ever solved or even looked at by Spectrum?

    I'm seeing the same problem. Tech says signal is OK, speedtest will show pretty close to my contracted speed.. but jitter kills my gaming/streaming activities.

     

    I've used an application called PingPlotter (basically pingpath but graphs over time). No matter where I try the test theres always a hop that will spike constantly..

     

    Here's a screenshot of the issue. https://www.screencast.com/t/HIsbdMPM

     

    Spectrum support doesn't even understand what I'm trying to explain.. seems like their script only tells them to restart the modem and send a technician.. Techs will come and tell me signal levels are Ok, but that's not the problem.

     

    Is there any way to get Spectrum to listen? Really frustrating situation ehn they don't even try to understand you.

     

  • RAIST5150RAIST5150 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭✭
    Jul 10, 2018
    @JAAS666

    That is not a helpdesk level issue... you need escalation to higher tiers of support, like tier3.

    Run something like tracert or pathping and paste the text from those reports in a post here. Not a link to a screenshot image, but the actual text grab. Right-click in the cmd window, click "select all" to highlight all the text, then press the enter key to copy it to the clip board, then you can paste all that text in the post.

    If you can get a snapshot demonstrating the issue, then the community managers can forward that data directly to higher level support for review.
  • JAAS666JAAS666 Posts: 18
    Jul 11, 2018
    Like this?? Got this one on my third try.. it's way easier to see on PingPlotter but it's so constant that it can be also captured with tracert. Third hop, 642ms... keeps going back and forward between normal 30-35 and spikes like this.

    Tracing route to google-public-dns-a.google.com [8.8.8.8]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 <1 ms <1 ms 1 ms router.asus.com [192.168.1.1]
    2 20 ms 26 ms 16 ms cpe-72-178-64-1.hot.res.rr.com [72.178.64.1]
    3 642 ms 22 ms 33 ms tge0-0-4.kllntxcr01h.texas.rr.com [66.68.7.105]
    4 23 ms 24 ms 9 ms agg24.wacotxjb01r.texas.rr.com [24.175.62.108]
    5 30 ms 35 ms 36 ms agg24.dllatxl301r.texas.rr.com [24.175.62.234]
    6 21 ms 22 ms 40 ms bu-ether14.dllstx976iw-bcr00.tbone.rr.com [66.109.6.88]
    7 27 ms 43 ms 24 ms 0.ae4.pr1.dfw10.tbone.rr.com [107.14.19.97]
    8 20 ms 60 ms 24 ms ix-ae-23-0.tcore2.dt8-dallas.as6453.net [66.110.57.97]
    9 21 ms 27 ms 22 ms 74.125.48.232
    10 17 ms 19 ms 40 ms 108.170.240.193
    11 25 ms 27 ms 22 ms 108.170.238.187
    12 26 ms 28 ms 27 ms google-public-dns-a.google.com [8.8.8.8]

    Trace complete.
  • ProdigyXLProdigyXL Posts: 1
    Jul 25, 2018

    I'm experiencing the same issue.  This network hop appears to be consistently poor.

    tge0-0-1.flmdtxbe01h.texas.rr.com

    image.png

This discussion has been closed.