Welcome to the Spectrum Community

Get answers, share solutions, help your community.

Start here

Best DVR Box

ahsanurahsanur Posts: 23
edited August 27 in Watch TV 2019 Archive May 15, 2019
I luckily can have access to most DVRs available in Spectrum. I currently have the Spectrum 210. Which is the best DVR box with quality and DVR features? Model numbers would be great! Thanks
«1

Comments

  • SatchSatch Posts: 3,746 helper
    May 15, 2019

    @ahsanur wrote:
    I luckily can have access to most DVRs available in Spectrum. I currently have the Spectrum 210. Which is the best DVR box with quality and DVR features? Model numbers would be great! Thanks

    They are rare,

     

    But if you can get your hands on a six tuner Arris 3600M or a Cisco 9865, they are the best!  The newer World Boxes only have four tuners and they run New Spectrum Guide, which still has a lot of bugs.  The Arris and Cisco boxes mentioned above, not only have two extra tuners, but they run ODN- Navigator Guide, which is better than Spectrum Guide because it is more reliable.

     

    Satch

  • ahsanurahsanur Posts: 23
    May 15, 2019
    Wow thanks for the quick reply! Will try my best to get them. Thanks! Do they have caller ID on TV features?
  • SatchSatch Posts: 3,746 helper
    May 15, 2019

    @ahsanur wrote:
    Wow thanks for the quick reply! Will try my best to get them. Thanks! Do they have caller ID on TV features?

    Yes!

     

    You must have landline service and CATV from Spectrum with a Spectrum Box to get the Caller ID features.  They take about 24 hours to activate (or less) after a new box install.  Note that Spectrum Guide in legacy TWC/Brighthouse Networks does NOT have the Caller ID on TV system ready yet.  It's coming, but they've been saying that since October, and there's no timeframe so Caller ID on TV for Spectrum Guide is on wait, IF you are in a legacy TWC/BHN area.

     

    If you are in a legacy Charter market, Caller ID on TV is out for Spectrum Guide for CATV/ landline Spectrum phone subs with a rented Spectrum box.  (24 hours to activate for new installs of service or less.)

     

    Satch

  • ahsanurahsanur Posts: 23
    May 15, 2019
    Great info! Thank you so much! I live in the NYC area. It was twc before... so looks like the older boxes are the better option right?
  • SatchSatch Posts: 3,746 helper
    May 16, 2019

    @ahsanur wrote:
    Great info! Thank you so much! I live in the NYC area. It was twc before... so looks like the older boxes are the better option right?

    Well,

    Specifically the six-tuner older boxes.  The Cisco 9865 or the Arris 3600-M.

     

    Satch

  • ahsanurahsanur Posts: 23
    May 16, 2019
    I have been getting some pixelation issues on a lot of channels and some don't appear so clear. Will the boxes you mentioned have better quality video? Thanks for always helping out! I truly appreciate it!
  • toolman1990toolman1990 Posts: 153 ✭✭✭✭
    May 16, 2019

    @ahsanur wrote:
    I have been getting some pixelation issues on a lot of channels and some don't appear so clear. Will the boxes you mentioned have better quality video? Thanks for always helping out! I truly appreciate it!

    That is not going to be a box issue. It is going to be a signal related issue espaiclly if your noticing this on multiple channels. You would need to contact support and have them schedule a truck roll for a tech to come out to fix signal related issues.

  • ahsanurahsanur Posts: 23
    May 16, 2019
    Thanks for the advice. Is there any way to check the signal my self?

    And the boxes that were mentioned, do they switch channels quickly?
  • ahsanurahsanur Posts: 23
    May 16, 2019
    When I am changing channels with the Spectrum 210 and I get to an on demand channel I can't press channel up without pressing exit. Is there any way to keep pressing channel up?
  • toolman1990toolman1990 Posts: 153 ✭✭✭✭
    May 16, 2019
    No. You have to hit exit to leave On Demand on Spectrum Guide.
  • krel_2018krel_2018 Posts: 256
    May 16, 2019

    the 210 is junk had 5 of them when they first came out no thanks. only 4 tuners not 6 no clock on the front. i agree with satch on the cisco unit and the arris six tuner model. now running ODN software if something goes south it's an easy fix if it can be fixed via a phone call unlike the 210 boxes. for the life of me i can't figure out why the numbers on the 210 remote don't light up but the rest of it does. also when i had it there was no caller id on the tv screen i don't know if that's been fixed or not. when i had it i spent three hours with tech support trying to get the HDD to format or do what ever it does. i will hold onto my 6 tuner untill it blows up LOL. oh yea also when i had the 210 it was giving me a message that the channel i wanted wasn't in my subscription when i was paying for it lol

  • krel_2018krel_2018 Posts: 256
    May 16, 2019
    to bad spectrum don't support whole home dvr service as the arris and the cisco boxes are made for that
  • ahsanurahsanur Posts: 23
    May 16, 2019
    Thanks for pointing out the cons! I really want the caller I'd. I hope I get the boxes
  • ahsanurahsanur Posts: 23
    May 16, 2019
    @krel_2018 which model number do you have?
  • SatchSatch Posts: 3,746 helper
    May 16, 2019

    @toolman1990 wrote:

    @ahsanur wrote:
    I have been getting some pixelation issues on a lot of channels and some don't appear so clear. Will the boxes you mentioned have better quality video? Thanks for always helping out! I truly appreciate it!

    That is not going to be a box issue. It is going to be a signal related issue espaiclly if your noticing this on multiple channels. You would need to contact support and have them schedule a truck roll for a tech to come out to fix signal related issues.


    New boxes will not solve signal issues,

     

    You will need a service call for a signal and drop line test.  Your main tap should also be checked or any corrosion in the lines.  Disconnect splitters, they can hurt signal strength. We would like at inside and outside wiring connections for this issue.

     

    Most importantly, don't reboot any boxes, modems, or routers for at least six hours prior to your service call.  This resets the error codes to zero, and the tech needs to see the error codes.  Than, turn to the channel(s) that pixilate the most when the tech is there so that he can get an accurate signal reading.

     

    Satch

  • ahsanurahsanur Posts: 23
    May 16, 2019
    Great info. Thanks!
  • SatchSatch Posts: 3,746 helper
    May 16, 2019

    @toolman1990 wrote:
    No. You have to hit exit to leave On Demand on Spectrum Guide.

    Right,

     

    In Spectrum Guide, On Demand Portal is not a channel.  It is akin to a screen menu which is why Exit must be pressed to leave On Demand in Spectrum Guide.

     

    Satch

  • toolman1990toolman1990 Posts: 153 ✭✭✭✭
    May 16, 2019

    @ahsanur wrote:
    Thanks for the advice. Is there any way to check the signal my self?

    And the boxes that were mentioned, do they switch channels quickly?

    You can call into Spectrum technical support and they are able to pull up the signal levels to your equipment. Their telephone number is 1-866-858-8922.

  • ahsanurahsanur Posts: 23
    May 16, 2019
    I remember seeing a Samsung DVR box in store. It was fat and black. Do you guys know about it?
  • ahsanurahsanur Posts: 23
    May 17, 2019
    I will be going to more stores today to see stock. I will compile a list of model numbers I find.
  • ahsanurahsanur Posts: 23
    May 17, 2019
    Thanks for your input on the Samsung boxes!
  • ahsanurahsanur Posts: 23
    May 17, 2019
    I have found the loot! So the boxes I have found are:
    Arris DCX3600-M
    Arris DCX3510-M
    Cisco 9865HDC
    Cisco 8742HDC
    Cisco Explorer 8642HDC
    Samsung SMT-H3272
    Spectrum 210-H
  • ahsanurahsanur Posts: 23
    May 19, 2019
    Anyone know how to update to the latest software of ODN navigator guide? And how do I check for firmware updates for my Arris DCX3600-M box? I wanted to make sure I have the latest version of everything.
  • ahsanurahsanur Posts: 23
    May 19, 2019
    Ok great! Thanks for letting me know
  • krel_2018krel_2018 Posts: 256
    May 22, 2019
    i have the ARRIS DCX3600-M its a 6 tuner unit
  • ahsanurahsanur Posts: 23
    May 22, 2019
    Thanks for letting me know. Truly appreciated
  • krel_2018krel_2018 Posts: 256
    May 23, 2019

    what box do you have??? when i had the 210 i hated it!!! the arris 3600 seems to be the best box as far as being old faithful it just works...

  • ahsanurahsanur Posts: 23
    May 23, 2019
    I just got the Arris DCX3600-M for both my TVs
  • krel_2018krel_2018 Posts: 256
    Jun 18, 2019

    my 3600 croaked over the weekend. guess what they gave me. the crummy world box and it's been a disaster

  • ahsanurahsanur Posts: 23
    Jun 18, 2019
    What happened to your box? What store did you go to?
This discussion has been closed.