Welcome to the Spectrum Community

Get answers, share solutions, help your community.

Start here

Staten Island: No ON Demand, No INFO, slow channel changing

irbrendairbrenda Posts: 6
in TV Equipment Jun 19, 2019

This is Day 2 where I have no On Demand, no program INFO when I hit the INFO button, and very slow channel changing.    I have one out of four TVs though that has no issue at all.   Odd that they are not all affected though.  I can see the Guide, but when I want more info, I get just the time in the upper righthand corner, and spinning circle, and a gray screen.  Is there an outage in Staten Island, New York?   

Accepted Answers

  • irbrendairbrenda Posts: 6
    Jun 20, 2019 Accepted Answer

    UPDATE:   It was an area problem and a software issue , which resolved itself two minutes before the tech arrived.   The technician checked out the TVs regardless, and they were working fine again.   Spectrum techs are a pleasure to deal with!  

  • James_MJames_M Posts: 2,076 admin
    Jun 20, 2019 Accepted Answer

    @irbrenda , 

     

    Thanks for the update and we apologize for the service issues.  Please let us know if we can assist in the future.  

Replies

  • James_MJames_M Posts: 2,076 admin
    Jun 19, 2019

    @irbrenda , 

     

    Please try restarting the cable box.  In most cases, restarting will resolve most issues.   I also included a link to TV Troubleshooting that may be helpful.   If restarting does not resolve the issue, please let us know.  

  • irbrendairbrenda Posts: 6
    Jun 19, 2019

    Hi,  it is now on 2 out of 4 TVs, same issue.  I've rebooted several times.   No change.  When I go on my account, I see those 2 TVs marked as Not Connected.   

    The issue remains.  I cannot get INFO when using the remote on regular channels.   It is a gray box with just the time in the corner, and eventually an error code HL847.

    As far as VOD, there is none on those sets.  I have VOD on the other two TVs that are working.  So strange.  The error on those sets is HL1000.  I have no problem with my router, and I doubt rebooting the router will solve this either.   

  • James_MJames_M Posts: 2,076 admin
    Jun 19, 2019

    Thanks.  You may need a serivce call to resolve the issue.  Please contact us directly by private message so we can troubleshoot further.  

     

  • irbrendairbrenda Posts: 6
    Jun 19, 2019
    Thank you, James. My new next door neighbors who I recommended to use Spectrum, had their service installed a few days ago. I’m thinking that the installer might have done something to the line that has two of my four boxes. Either way, I have someone coming here tonight. Appreciate your assistance.
  • SatchSatch Posts: 3,628 helper
    Jun 19, 2019

    @irbrenda wrote:
    Thank you, James. My new next door neighbors who I recommended to use Spectrum, had their service installed a few days ago. I’m thinking that the installer might have done something to the line that has two of my four boxes. Either way, I have someone coming here tonight. Appreciate your assistance.

    Some advice,

     

    Don't reboot any equipment (boxes, modems,  or routers.) for six hours prior to your service call.  This resets the error codes that the tech reads with his signal meter back to zero.  And the tech needs to see the errors when they are happening.  Post back after your appointment.

     

    Satch

  • irbrendairbrenda Posts: 6
    Jun 19, 2019
    I won’t. Thank you!
This discussion has been closed.