You are currently viewing the Spectrum Community Archives
This content may be outdated or inaccurate
All posts are closed and commenting has been disabled

If you have a question or comment, please start a new post (registration is required)

Leave the Archive

Missing Video Settings

Options
Doublexx1
Doublexx1 Posts: 17 Participant
edited September 2023 in Spectrum Archives: 2020 - Present

Hello -

I am new to Spectrum and formally with U-verse for the last 17-years. While my resolution is set to 1080p, I cannot find the settings to address the two bullet points under #4 below regarding Aspect Ratio.

With U-verse, we were accustomed to easily zooming in/out or stretching the screen on non-HD programs like the STARZ Encore channels. For example, on STARZ Westerns many of the movies are in a letterbox format with big annoying black borders on all sides.

NOTE: Not sure if it makes a difference, but I have the Spectrum 210 DVR box.

Thanks in advance to anyone who can provide guidance.

To access Video Settings:

1. Press the Menu key on your remote.
  2. Select Settings & Support.
  3. Choose Preferences.
  4. Select Audio & Video.
    • Go to Video and press OK/Select on your remote. From here, you can access:Video Format: Select the screen resolution that’s best for your TV.
    • HD box on SDTV Aspect Ratio: Choose from Letterbox or Zoom.
    • SD box on HD Aspect Ratio: Choose from Pillar Bars or Stretch.
  5. Highlight Save and press OK/Select on your remote.

Answers

• Satch
    Satch Posts: 5,318 Contributor
    Options

Hi,

If you have the new Spectrum World Box and/or the new Spectrum Guide on your box in both cases, Native Resolution is preset by the box and HDMI connection based on the channel output. In all cases, regardless of box, the stretch and zoom options only work if the following are true:

1.) The box guide has the guise software to support changing SD channel outputs. )World boxes and Spectrum Guide do not.)