You are currently viewing the Spectrum Community Archives
This content may be outdated or inaccurate
All posts are closed and commenting has been disabled

If you have a question or comment, please start a new post (registration is required)

Leave the Archive

Has Spectrum removed our access to our owned cable modems?

Schorschi
Schorschi Posts: 13 Participant

Has Spectrum removed our access to our owned cable modems? I own my cable modem, I had until very recently, access to the cable modem diagnostics web page, .i.e. 192.168.100.1. I rely on this information to find issues, given I am a 30 year IT professional. I my case, I actually know what the information means and how it can be used. Please don't tell me you removed this access, it makes it much harder to find issues with internet ISP connectivity. I own my modem, thus removing my access to it, is not good.

Answers

• Tyleen_Z
    Tyleen_Z Posts: 678 ✅ Verified Employee Moderator

Hello,

This feature was not removed as we do not have access to customer owned modems to remove this access.

If you are unable to access the modem that you own you would need to contact the modem manufacturer.

-Tyleen

• karlbeckman
    karlbeckman Posts: 2,285 Contributor

I believe that Tyleen's comment is incorrect and incomplete.. As a network operator, Spectrum is required by the FCC to be able to disconnect malfunctioning devices that may be causing interference to other customers as well as 911 phone services. Further, network customers are NOT permitted to change the system modem password in an owned modem device to block Spectrum technical personnel from performing their FCC-mandated network maintenance duties.