Before posting a new question, please check out our Internet / WiFi and Spectrum TV App troubleshooting pages for common issues, as well as useful information to include in your post.

Advanced Search Options


We have advanced search options to make it easier to locate posts, questions and answers on this community.
More information can be found at Advanced Search Options
If you are looking for something specific, please check if someone else has already asked or answered the same question.

What is causing intermittent Internet disconnects?

PatrickInBamaPatrickInBama Posts: 9 Spectator
edited August 24 in Connectivity May 31, 2022

We are a new customer since March 2022 and at first all was great. We have the Gigabit plan and I was seeing 800 to 900 Mb downloads on a regular basis. Then back a month ago I started to see intermittent disconnects and I was blaming the Neatgear Orbi 6 Pro since I bought it at the same time we moved to Spectrum. My previous network was a McGyvered system I put together because the house is so large. I built my own ethernet backhaul using a Nighthawk R7000 router to a Uverse modem/router. It worked great for a 40Mb plan.

Fast forward to last week and I started to see disconnects multiple times every day and this time it was the modem. I have the Technicolor ET2251 modem and both the top indicators would flash white and eventually a solid blue. Sometimes I would lose the internet without the modem indicating there was an issue. I could tell because the Orbi router 3 feet away would show magenta which means no internet connection.

So I researched a bit a decided to get a Netgear CM2000 modem. I had Spectrum activate it and it works better but I have seen 3 disconnects with it. At least I can view the logs. The 1st 3 disconnects were similar and I wished I had keep those logs but every reboot resets it. The messages I remember seeing and I apologize if I screw them up:

RNG-RSP CCAP Commanded Power in Excess of 6 dB Below the Value Corresponding to the Top of the DRW

And that was seen with another common message - Dynamic Range Window violation.

What I did from the research I read was check the box on the modem, Enable Extended Upstream Transmit Power. It seems there isn't enough upstream power and many of the other messages I was seeing was a request being made to the ISP and it timed out on the response as if the ISP wasn't receiving the message. Now my yard is huge, we sit about 1,100 feet from the road. When we had Uverse, we had to have AT&T completely upgrade all of the infrastructure from the pole to the house. It's possible the existing CableTV infrastructure is too old. The contractor who came was smart enough to completely bypass all of the insane number of splitters this house had - at one count, 14. Instead he kept one in the garage and ran a new line from the modem to that splitter with the input line going to the box outside. I did notice I had to finger tighten the connectors outside, but it still lead to the 3 disconnects. I ordered a couple of items, a new GE splitter and a few F connectors. I really don't need to use any of the existing coax in the house. I had Spectrum come out a year ago to use the existing wall plates that had coax and none worked.

So here is the latest log file output since the last reboot at 6pm:

Tue May 31 04:45:41 2022	(Notice (6))	DS profile assignment change. DS Chan ID: 32; Previous Profile: ; New Profile: 1 2.;CM-MAC=xxx;CMTS-MAC=xxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Tue May 31 04:45:36 2022	(Notice (6))	TLV-11 - unrecognized OID;CM-MAC=xxx;CMTS-MAC=xxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Tue May 31 04:45:36 2022	(Error (4))	Missing BP Configuration Setting TLV Type: 17.9;CM-MAC=xxx;CMTS-MAC=xxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Tue May 31 04:45:36 2022	(Error (4))	Missing BP Configuration Setting TLV Type: 17.8;CM-MAC=xxx;CMTS-MAC=xxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Tue May 31 04:45:36 2022	(Error (4))	Missing BP Configuration Setting TLV Type: 17.3;CM-MAC=xxx;CMTS-MAC=xxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Tue May 31 04:45:36 2022	(Warning (5))	DHCP WARNING - Non-critical field invalid in response ;CM-MAC=xxx;CMTS-MAC=xxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Time Not Established	(Notice (6))	Overriding MDD IP initialization parameters; IP provisioning mode = IPv4
Time Not Established	(Critical (3))	No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxx;CMTS-MAC=xxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Time Not Established	(Critical (3))	SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Failed to acquire QAM/QPSK symbol timing;;CM-MAC=xxx;CMTS-MAC=00:00:00:00:00:00;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Tue May 31 04:44:35 2022	(Notice (6))	SW download Successful - Via NMS
Tue May 31 04:36:50 2022	(Notice (6))	SW Download INIT - Via NMS

I'm not seeing any of the other messages but no one was online overnight. I'll update this thread if I see anything new.

Here is the configuration parameters of the upload/download stream:

Startup Procedure

Procedure	Status	Comment
Acquire Downstream Channel	555000000 Hz	Locked
Connectivity State	OK	Operational
Boot State	OK	Operational
Security	Enabled	BPI+


 

Downstream Bonded Channels

Channel	Lock Status	Modulation	Channel ID	Frequency	Power	SNR	Correctables	Uncorrectables
1	Locked	QAM256	32	555000000 Hz	1.9 dBmV	42.3 dB	1	0
2	Locked	QAM256	1	369000000 Hz	3.8 dBmV	42.9 dB	0	0
3	Locked	QAM256	2	375000000 Hz	3.7 dBmV	42.8 dB	0	0
4	Locked	QAM256	3	381000000 Hz	3.4 dBmV	42.7 dB	0	0
5	Locked	QAM256	4	387000000 Hz	3.6 dBmV	42.8 dB	0	0
6	Locked	QAM256	5	393000000 Hz	3.1 dBmV	42.8 dB	0	0
7	Locked	QAM256	6	399000000 Hz	3.0 dBmV	42.7 dB	0	0
8	Locked	QAM256	8	411000000 Hz	2.1 dBmV	42.3 dB	0	0
9	Locked	QAM256	9	417000000 Hz	2.2 dBmV	42.2 dB	0	0
10	Locked	QAM256	10	423000000 Hz	1.8 dBmV	42.1 dB	0	0
11	Locked	QAM256	11	429000000 Hz	2.0 dBmV	42.2 dB	1	0
12	Locked	QAM256	12	435000000 Hz	1.7 dBmV	42.0 dB	0	0
13	Locked	QAM256	13	441000000 Hz	1.5 dBmV	41.9 dB	0	0
14	Locked	QAM256	14	453000000 Hz	1.5 dBmV	41.8 dB	0	0
15	Locked	QAM256	15	459000000 Hz	2.0 dBmV	42.0 dB	0	0
16	Locked	QAM256	16	465000000 Hz	1.8 dBmV	41.9 dB	0	0
17	Locked	QAM256	17	471000000 Hz	1.8 dBmV	42.0 dB	0	0
18	Locked	QAM256	18	477000000 Hz	2.0 dBmV	42.1 dB	2	0
19	Locked	QAM256	19	483000000 Hz	1.9 dBmV	42.1 dB	0	0
20	Locked	QAM256	20	489000000 Hz	2.4 dBmV	42.3 dB	1	0
21	Locked	QAM256	21	495000000 Hz	2.0 dBmV	42.3 dB	2	0
22	Locked	QAM256	22	501000000 Hz	2.4 dBmV	42.5 dB	1	0
23	Locked	QAM256	23	507000000 Hz	2.1 dBmV	42.4 dB	0	0
24	Locked	QAM256	24	513000000 Hz	2.0 dBmV	42.4 dB	2	0
25	Locked	QAM256	26	519000000 Hz	2.2 dBmV	42.4 dB	0	0
26	Locked	QAM256	27	525000000 Hz	1.9 dBmV	42.4 dB	3	0
27	Locked	QAM256	28	531000000 Hz	2.4 dBmV	42.5 dB	0	0
28	Locked	QAM256	29	537000000 Hz	2.0 dBmV	42.5 dB	2	0
29	Locked	QAM256	30	543000000 Hz	2.3 dBmV	42.5 dB	3	0
30	Locked	QAM256	31	549000000 Hz	2.2 dBmV	42.5 dB	2	0
31	Locked	QAM256	33	561000000 Hz	2.3 dBmV	42.4 dB	4	0
32	Not Locked	Unknown	0	0 Hz	0.0 dBmV	0.0 dB	0	0


 

Upstream Bonded Channels

Channel	Lock Status	US Channel Type	Channel ID	Symbol Rate	Frequency	Power
1	Locked	ATDMA	41	5120	17800000 Hz	43.5 dBmV
2	Locked	ATDMA	42	5120	24200000 Hz	44.8 dBmV
3	Locked	ATDMA	43	5120	30600000 Hz	45.3 dBmV
4	Locked	ATDMA	44	5120	37000000 Hz	45.5 dBmV
5	Not Locked	Unknown	0	0	0 Hz	0.0 dBmV
6	Not Locked	Unknown	0	0	0 Hz	0.0 dBmV
7	Not Locked	Unknown	0	0	0 Hz	0.0 dBmV
8	Not Locked	Unknown	0	0	0 Hz	0.0 dBmV


 

Downstream OFDM Channels

Channel	Lock
Status	Modulation /
Profile ID	Channel
ID	Frequency	Power	SNR /
MER	Active Subcarrier
Number Range	Unerrored
Codewords	Correctable
Codewords	Uncorrectable
Codewords
1	Locked	0 ,1 ,2	25	668000000 Hz	1.9 dBmV	41.4 dB	1108 ~ 2987	168434734	165512203	0
2	Not Locked	0	0	0 Hz	0 dBmV	0.0 dB	0 ~ 4095	0	0	0


 

Upstream OFDMA Channels

Channel	Lock Status	Modulation / Profile ID	Channel ID	Frequency	Power
1	Not Locked	0	0	0 Hz	0 dBmV
2	Not Locked	0	0	0 Hz	0 dBmV


 

Extended Upstream Transmit Power

Enable Extended Upstream Transmit Power


 

Current System Time:Tue May 31 13:45:18 2022
System Up Time:09:00:14


Let me know if you need anything else.

Thanks, Patrick

Replies

  • PatrickInBamaPatrickInBama Posts: 9 Spectator
    May 31, 2022

    Here's some new log output:

    Tue May 31 14:02:44 2022	(Critical (3))	Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging - No Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxx;CMTS-MAC=xxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
    Tue May 31 14:02:42 2022	(Warning (5))	Dynamic Range Window violation
    Tue May 31 14:02:42 2022	(Warning (5))	RNG-RSP CCAP Commanded Power in Excess of 6 dB Below the Value Corresponding to the Top of the DRW;CM-MAC=xxx;CMTS-MAC=xxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
    Tue May 31 14:02:42 2022	(Warning (5))	Dynamic Range Window violation
    Tue May 31 14:02:42 2022	(Warning (5))	RNG-RSP CCAP Commanded Power in Excess of 6 dB Below the Value Corresponding to the Top of the DRW;CM-MAC=xxx;CMTS-MAC=xxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
    Tue May 31 14:02:27 2022	(Critical (3))	Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging - No Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxx;CMTS-MAC=xxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
    


  • PatrickInBamaPatrickInBama Posts: 9 Spectator
    May 31, 2022

    I also see more Correctables and Uncorrectables.

    Downstream Bonded Channels
    Channel	Lock Status	Modulation	Channel ID	Frequency	Power	SNR	Correctables	Uncorrectables
    1	Locked	QAM256	32	555000000 Hz	1.9 dBmV	42.2 dB	273	462
    2	Locked	QAM256	1	369000000 Hz	4.3 dBmV	42.9 dB	1295	748
    3	Locked	QAM256	2	375000000 Hz	4.2 dBmV	42.8 dB	997	754
    4	Locked	QAM256	3	381000000 Hz	3.8 dBmV	42.6 dB	977	722
    5	Locked	QAM256	4	387000000 Hz	4.0 dBmV	42.7 dB	963	715
    6	Locked	QAM256	5	393000000 Hz	3.5 dBmV	42.7 dB	830	746
    7	Locked	QAM256	6	399000000 Hz	3.4 dBmV	42.6 dB	884	698
    8	Locked	QAM256	8	411000000 Hz	2.5 dBmV	42.1 dB	847	657
    9	Locked	QAM256	9	417000000 Hz	2.5 dBmV	42.1 dB	737	682
    10	Locked	QAM256	10	423000000 Hz	2.1 dBmV	42.0 dB	791	671
    11	Locked	QAM256	11	429000000 Hz	2.4 dBmV	42.1 dB	699	656
    12	Locked	QAM256	12	435000000 Hz	2.1 dBmV	41.9 dB	638	569
    13	Locked	QAM256	13	441000000 Hz	1.9 dBmV	41.7 dB	683	639
    14	Locked	QAM256	14	453000000 Hz	1.8 dBmV	41.7 dB	447	581
    15	Locked	QAM256	15	459000000 Hz	2.3 dBmV	41.8 dB	458	625
    16	Locked	QAM256	16	465000000 Hz	2.1 dBmV	41.8 dB	420	599
    17	Locked	QAM256	17	471000000 Hz	2.1 dBmV	41.9 dB	409	491
    18	Locked	QAM256	18	477000000 Hz	2.3 dBmV	42.0 dB	332	568
    19	Locked	QAM256	19	483000000 Hz	2.1 dBmV	42.0 dB	432	572
    20	Locked	QAM256	20	489000000 Hz	2.6 dBmV	42.1 dB	371	495
    21	Locked	QAM256	21	495000000 Hz	2.1 dBmV	42.1 dB	356	522
    22	Locked	QAM256	22	501000000 Hz	2.5 dBmV	42.3 dB	283	605
    23	Locked	QAM256	23	507000000 Hz	2.2 dBmV	42.2 dB	310	474
    24	Locked	QAM256	24	513000000 Hz	2.1 dBmV	42.2 dB	303	482
    25	Locked	QAM256	26	519000000 Hz	2.3 dBmV	42.3 dB	257	513
    26	Locked	QAM256	27	525000000 Hz	2.0 dBmV	42.3 dB	236	467
    27	Locked	QAM256	28	531000000 Hz	2.4 dBmV	42.4 dB	306	445
    28	Locked	QAM256	29	537000000 Hz	2.0 dBmV	42.2 dB	317	489
    29	Locked	QAM256	30	543000000 Hz	2.3 dBmV	42.3 dB	287	504
    30	Locked	QAM256	31	549000000 Hz	2.3 dBmV	42.3 dB	225	447
    31	Locked	QAM256	33	561000000 Hz	2.3 dBmV	42.3 dB	256	433
    32	Not Locked	Unknown	0	0 Hz	0.0 dBmV	0.0 dB	0	0
    
  • PatrickInBamaPatrickInBama Posts: 9 Spectator
    May 31, 2022

    The splitter also is not grounded. Would that cause any issues? I know once I get those F connectors I'll replace that splitter and just connect the outside coax to the new inside. I wonder until then if I should disconnect the other coax to the splitter. I'm not using any other coax cable in the house. The name brand of the splitter is an Antronix splitter and I have no idea if it's any good or how old it is (at least 9 years old).

  • Randy_SRandy_S Posts: 367 Moderator
    May 31, 2022

    Good morning @PatrickInBama and welcome to the Spectrum Community. Splitters can definitely be an issue in they may go bad or have static in the connection that would cause noise on the line. The more splitters and various junction points you have exponentially increase the number of opportunities for noise to get on the line directly or expose the line to environmental noise (like neighboring Wi-Fi networks or even electronics that may emit frequencies along or near the same as the Wi-Fi band.

    All of that said, I was able to locate the equipment with your login credentials but got once I found the account I am seeing a potential provisioning issue I would need to clarify or possibly correct. So expect a private message from me through our Community_Help handle so I can gather your account information and get this taken care of. It will be in the next five minutes.

    Randy

  • PatrickInBamaPatrickInBama Posts: 9 Spectator
    Jul 08, 2022

    So to update my issues since getting Spectrum Gigabit back in March:

    For the 1st 2 months I had no issues then around the very end of April I started to see disconnects on a daily basis. We went out of town for about 3 weeks. For the next week after we got back (Memorial Day weekend), constant daily disconnects so I bought a new modem - Netgear CM2000. I had Spectrum register it and again the same issues. At least I could see the logs. Always the same messages related to the modem contacting Spectrum and Spectrum not responding. The messages are exactly the same as others.

    Fri Jul 08 16:14:57 2022(Warning (5))Dynamic Range Window violationFri Jul 08 16:14:57 2022(Warning (5))RNG-RSP CCAP Commanded Power in Excess of 6 dB Below the Value Corresponding to the Top of the DRW;CM-MAC=94:a6:7e:fb:20:94;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:6d:1a:57;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;Fri Jul 08 16:14:57 2022(Warning (5))Dynamic Range Window violationFri Jul 08 16:14:57 2022(Warning (5))RNG-RSP CCAP Commanded Power in Excess of 6 dB Below the Value Corresponding to the Top of the DRW;CM-MAC=94:a6:7e:fb:20:94;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:6d:1a:57;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;Fri Jul 08 16:14:57 2022(Warning (5))Dynamic Range Window violationFri Jul 08 16:14:57 2022(Warning (5))RNG-RSP CCAP Commanded Power in Excess of 6 dB Below the Value Corresponding to the Top of the DRW;CM-MAC=94:a6:7e:fb:20:94;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:6d:1a:57;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;Fri Jul 08 16:14:57 2022(Critical (3))Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging - No Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=94:a6:7e:fb:20:94;CMTS-MAC=00:01:5c:6d:1a:57;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

    I had a technician come out and he removed the only splitter from the modem to the outside and rebuilt the connection. He also replaced the splitter outside the house. For 9 days I had no issues but I started having the same issues after that for the next month. I have to disconnect the modem and router about 8 to 12 times day. He did say if this continues to happen to escalate to a senior technician to come out and look at the wiring from the house to the tap. He tried to identify how old the tap is but there were no identifying marks and it looks quite old. The house was built in 1986 and from the first time I tried to get Spectrum 2 years ago they couldn't even reuse the coax in the house so the order was canceled. Can I go ahead and get this escalated? My old 50Mb internet is looking more and more appealing every day.


    Thanks,

    Patrick

  • James_MJames_M Posts: 3,641 ADMIN
    Jul 08, 2022

    The next step would be to schedule another service call. Looking at your information, it appears that you already have one scheduled in the near future. Let us know how it goes!

  • PatrickInBamaPatrickInBama Posts: 9 Spectator
    Jul 10, 2022

    He came out this afternoon and ran a few tests and then left. No resolution but today was the rare day that I didn't see any disconnects. Said if this happens again, have a tech look at the tap and/or verify the wiring from the house to the road is good. I was hoping this would have been that guy not Tech Guy No 2. The 1st tech did much more than this guy. All he said is that it appears the logs show a power fluctuation at the modem about the time of the issues. One thing I did over a month ago was buy an APC to prevent the power fluctuations we sometimes get. I have a whole house power surge suppressor at the mains that was added a few years ago to prevent losing an air compressor due to storms.

    So I guess we'll see tomorrow. Weird how the window of 9am - 6pm seems to be when I see all of the disconnects.

  • Renee_TRenee_T Posts: 328 Moderator
    Jul 11, 2022

    Definitely keep us updated if the connection issues pop back up tomorrow.

  • PatrickInBamaPatrickInBama Posts: 9 Spectator
    Jul 12, 2022

    Yesterday was good, had only 1 reset but it's back today. So far 3 reboots in the past hour.

    This is what I see after restarting the modem. Sometimes, the network goes down and the upstream light blinks and then the modem shows that 2 of the 4 upstream bonded channels are not locked. Already have numerous uncorrectable words.

  • James_MJames_M Posts: 3,641 ADMIN
    Jul 12, 2022

    Thanks. The next step would be to rule out the equipment as the issue. Since you are currently using your own modem, the easiest method would be to obtain a new, Spectrum provided modem from a local store. Modems are provided free, with no monthly fee.

  • PatrickInBamaPatrickInBama Posts: 9 Spectator
    Jul 12, 2022

    I switched from the modem provided to me because that's where the issue started. Because I couldn't read the logs, I wasn't able to determine the cause until I researched all of the modems on Spectrum's approved list and settled on the Netgear Nighthawk CM2000. Before I got the Netgear, the Spectrum modem was going down the same number of times per day. Would it be as easy as plugging it back in without going through registering it?

  • James_MJames_M Posts: 3,641 ADMIN
    Jul 12, 2022

    You can try plugging it in, however if the equipment is not recognized, you will need to call in to have the MAC address registered.

  • PatrickInBamaPatrickInBama Posts: 9 Spectator
    Jul 26, 2022

    After all these daily restarts, I went ahead and activated the original Spectrum modem. Same issue except now I can't get to the logs. Once I lose connection, I go through the motions of unplugging the modem and router, wait a minute, plug the modem back in and then the router once the modem is up. Guess the next step is to get someone out here to look at the outside wiring to the tap and the tap itself.

  • William_MWilliam_M Posts: 396 Moderator
    Jul 27, 2022

    Thanks for trying a Spectrum modem. Since you are still having the same issue I recommend scheduling another appointment with a technician for further testing and repairs. I will reach out to you again via private message to set that up.

This discussion has been closed.