Before posting a new question, please check out our Internet / WiFi and Spectrum TV App troubleshooting pages for common issues, as well as useful information to include in your post.

Advanced Search Options


We have advanced search options to make it easier to locate posts, questions and answers on this community.
More information can be found at Advanced Search Options
If you are looking for something specific, please check if someone else has already asked or answered the same question.

Frequently Asked Questions


(Quick links to the current most searched topics)
How can I pause and rewind live TV using the Spectrum TV app?
Spectrum TV App Supported Devices

Spectrum Remote Code doesnt work

cpalaciocpalacio Posts: 3 Spectator
edited November 1 in TV Equipment Sep 26, 2022

Hi

I have a Spectrum SR-002-R remote. I watch cable tv and also OTA tv.

Is there anyway to have the remote control OTA channels or is it locked into only change channels on the cable box.

Replies

  • SatchSatch Posts: 4,754 Contributor
    edited September 26 Sep 26, 2022

    Welcome to the forum @cpalacio!

    Over the air channels, as well as any additional channels, in your package plan would all be controlled by your Spectrum Cable box Remote through this configuration. Spectrum Select for example is a plan that gives you all your locals through the cable box. Plus several other cable exclusive channels.

    Satch

  • HT_GreenfieldHT_Greenfield Posts: 139 Contributor
    Sep 27, 2022

    @cpalacio : the channel functions of every cable TV receiver remote that i’ve ever used, are dedicated to the cable TV receiver tuner with no way to control the TV’s tuner and the “Spectrum Remote” (also known as “Spectrum Guide Remote” & of which SR-002 is a model code) is definitely no exception.

  • SatchSatch Posts: 4,754 Contributor
    edited September 28 Sep 28, 2022

    Just to add to this,

    Why would anybody want two remotes for OTA and CATV? That doesn't make sense. The idea for modern technology is convenyance and consolidation. People want as few remotes as possible to control their devices. Once you get CATV with a cable box, your cable box and cable box remote becomes your tuner for all of your channels.

    But don't discard the remote that comes with your TV! Remember, you will need that to adjust picture and color settings, as well as audio preferences. If you have a Smart TV, you will also need your CATV remote to run the apps.

    Spectrum's World Boxes (without a clock) allow direct subscriptions to Netflix (billed through Netflix) and HBO Max (billed through Spectrum) without having to change to your TV manufactures' remote.

    Satch

  • HT_GreenfieldHT_Greenfield Posts: 139 Contributor
    Sep 28, 2022

    Satch, we’re not talking about wanting two remotes to do everything but, rather, quite the opposite. We’re talking about switching the TV to antenna (which you CAN do with a CATV remote) and being able to change TV tuner channels (which you CAN’T do with a CATV remote.) We switch to antenna to watch locally broadcast channels that aren’t included in our CATV lineup as well as broadcast TV in general during CATV outages. We can expect most if not all local broadcasters’ primary channels to be in our CATV channel lineup. We can also expect many secondary channels of local broadcasters to also be included but not all secondary channels of all local broadcasters are included in any CATV or satellite TV lineup, anywhere.

  • cpalaciocpalacio Posts: 3 Spectator
    Sep 28, 2022

    that is correct HT. Plus the new tv I got, has ASTC 3.0 which allows for Next Gen 4k OTA broadcast. Currently in tampa bay there are only 4 next gen channels so far but the results are spectacular. For eg last week I watch the Florida Tennessee football game on CBS Nextgen on 4k and the resolution was noticeably better than spectrums HD CBS channel (which i think is only 1080i resolution.) For large tv the resolution makes a difference.

    So my goal is to be able to use next gen ota signals for those 4 channels and spectrum for all other channels and trying to get one remote to control both functions.


    Sincerely

  • HT_GreenfieldHT_Greenfield Posts: 139 Contributor
    edited September 29 Sep 29, 2022

    My compliments to you cp for the informative heads-up. Not to temper anybody’s expectations or anything but what’s presumably going on in Tampa is pretty typical with the current state of ATSC 3.0 affairs. WMOR-TV is running an ATSC 3.0 “lighthouse,” simulcasting the primary channel of all four major network affiliates (in sub-affiliation, of course) along with their own primary, all as ATSC 3.0 lighthouse subchannels. (Different RF channels, of course but, somehow, the same familiar virtual channel numbers!) ATSC 3.0 4K commercial broadcasting may be coming but it’s not here yet. BUT the ATSC 3.0 simulcasts of WFLA-TV NBC & WTSP CBS & WMOR-TV are 1080p which, itself, could be quite a biggie. It would depend on whether any given program is produced & distributed in 1080p in the first place. Maybe football games on CBS are! But even if the ATSC 3.0 simulcast is a 1080p upconversion from ATSC 1080i (or 720p) i could see where that might still come out looking better after being upconverted to 4K compared to CATV DVB 1080i (or 720p) upconverted to 1080p & then upconverted again to 4K. (To say nothing of the internet-connective user interface features or audio techniques at play with ATSC 3.0.)

  • cpalaciocpalacio Posts: 3 Spectator
    Oct 01, 2022

    HT this is very good info and now I can verify that your comment is correct. When I looked at the info, it does display 1080p on the NextGen channels.

    I guess I will have to continue looking for a solution to my question about finding a one remote solution.

    Thanks for your insights.

    jas

  • HT_GreenfieldHT_Greenfield Posts: 139 Contributor
    Oct 02, 2022

    Yeah @cpalacio, anything produced & distributed & broadcast in 1080p is going to be a videographic quantum leap above either 720p or 1080i because it's the best of both, combined!

    Just curious what brand of TV & what type or model of Spectrum receiver you have & do you have CEC enabled on the TV & is your Spectrum receiver CEC discoverable therein? What i'm driving at, because your TV & thus probably its remote are so advanced, is whether any control of the Spectrum receiver can be added to the TV remote! Presumably such is not unheard of.

  • SatchSatch Posts: 4,754 Contributor
    Oct 02, 2022

    @HT_Greenfield ,

    Very impressed with your technology knowledge! Thank you for sharing!

    What about 4K's future on the Spectrum World Boxes and Spectrum Guide? Is that something that would in the future be software dependent? Or hardware dependent? Or a mixture of both?

    Even though Spectrum boxes aren't 4K yet, the output resolution on my Samsing Series 8 TV is outstanding! Old movies from the 50's-70's in a lot of cases look like they were made yesterday! And live sports events. It is like the athletes are in the room with you, not even seperated by a screen! Is the Spectrum App 4K?

    At the same time, a challenge is represented for the cable boxes and guides designed for older sets.

    Satch

This discussion has been closed.