Simple TV custom channel selection for seniors, dementia...

Options
Rbjr
Rbjr Posts: 5 Spectator
edited December 2023 in Channels & Programming

Please guide me, I am new to spectrum,

Is there any thing like this in spectrum land??

A 1980s style basic TV experience for elderly, damentia patients...

... Simple button on off for TV, returns to previous channel, or home start channel...

simple up down to change limited favorite custom channel selection...

For cable box, no app. No Netflix or other distractions...

No apps, no menus simple goof proof interface.... 

I also noticed all the old channels between 24 and 200 got er relocated to hd land ( fun to try and explain to someone that your favorite 55 is now 619...

Can't limit channels in cable converter box?? Parental control only gives you a type your pin?? I was hoping for only switching through your 20 custom favorites, not getting lost in the other sea of choices... 165 channels ....

And if using the app, up down buttons do not change channel in live TV?, gotta go right to see guide, then up down... Help

Thank you for any ideas and improvements.

Best Answers

• Rbjr
    Answer ✓
    Options

After a fruitful hour with customer service.

We managed to set the cable box to switch favorite channels with pressing the up and down channel buttons

I selected a Walmart universal remote to reduce the chance of getting lost in the menu zone .

Here is my attempt to describe the menus and remote...

https://www.reddit.com/r/Spectrum/s/ICdK3agXd7

• William_M
    William_M Posts: 1,097 ✅ Verified Employee Moderator
    Answer ✓
    Options

Hi @Frustrated_Caregiver, welcome to our community!

That universal remote definitely looks like a great option for those with cable receivers. Once the favorite channels are selected and the guide filter changed to favorites no additional menus need to be accessed, only those channels will appear in the guide or be selected when choosing channel up and down.

Answers