Experiencing extremely high latency / packet loss for the last 2 weeks. (Florissant, MO)

Options
Jacobwitt
Jacobwitt Posts: 2 Spectator
edited February 24 in Gaming & Gaming Related

Hi there,

I've been experiencing rather high latency spikes in a "sawtooth pattern" where it "seems normal" and then spikes to 300-1000ms+ ping.

This has been accompanied w/5-15% packet loss (with moments as high as 25%) as reported by my OPNSense router.

(For background, I run and operate a "homelab" out of my home, using enterprise gear, and have a 10GB fiber backbone, with 1GB copper ethernet running to every room, router is capable of routing up to 10Gbps. I also work in the IT sector.)

I called in last week, and mentioned the experience I've been having to a CSR w/Spectrum, and they suggested replacing my modem. They noticed that it wasn't reporting as active, and setup the replacement for the following day.

I replaced the modem, and activated it with a CSR over the phone, and saw no change in latency, and or packet loss. Very frustrating.

At this point, I thought I was going crazy, so I started testing links between my switches for errors, or possible failure, but everything checks out. I switched networking interfaces on my computer, no change. I changed devices, and yet, no change. a consistent 5-10% packet loss.

Heck, I plugged a device DIRECTLY into the modem, and still experienced packet loss, and inconsistent ping.

I called in again, and requested a technician to come out. He came out same day, and tested my coax hookups by my modem, and noticed an abnormal rx>tx rate on the line. He said he'd try and tune it and got it a little more level, but still pretty off.

He and I went outside, and on the side of my house, we noticed there was a "single-tap" directly connected to my residence. I'm in the back of my neighborhood, but there are houses all around me, so it didn't make much sense to be there, it should be a multi-tap, or somewhere else.