SAX1V1R Settings are Severely Limited

Options
kenv
kenv Posts: 4 Spectator
edited May 23 in Home Networking

Just recently, my Spectrum technician swapped out my old leased router for a new SAX1V1R router. I didn't think much of it considering I had figured this router would have the same configuration capabilities as my old one, if not more since it is new. Well, I found out that Spectrum severely limits how much this router can be configured. You have to use the Spectrum app to configure it and the options are few compared to the old router I had. I am an IT Professional and would like the flexibility to have more advanced configuration settings, but there is no way to get to them on this router. If you try to navigate to the browser interface, it just tells you to use the Spectrum app, and as I said before, there are very limited options for router configuration on the Spectrum app. In fact, some of the options have very simplistic descriptions that don't go into much detail on what they do. For instance, the Security Shield info doesn't provide enough technical info for someone like myself to fully understand what it does exactly and doesn't provide any granularity on configuring it. It is either on or off. This is really unacceptable!

Best Answers

• Renee_T
    Renee_T Posts: 698 ✅ Verified Employee Moderator
    Answer ✓
    Options

Hello @kenv

Welcome to our community! I'm sorry to hear that our current routers do not meet your configuration needs. If you need greater control over the router, I would recommend purchasing your own router as you would have total control over the settings and configurations. This would also allow you to have the monthly wifi charge removed from your bill as well.

• Mo_S
    Mo_S Posts: 96 ✅ Verified Employee Moderator
    Answer ✓
    Options

Good morning @kenv,