Before posting a new question, please check out our Internet / WiFi and Spectrum TV App troubleshooting pages for common issues, as well as useful information to include in your post.

Advanced Search Options


We have advanced search options to make it easier to locate posts, questions and answers on this community.
More information can be found at Advanced Search Options
If you are looking for something specific, please check if someone else has already asked or answered the same question.

No IPv6

ShirBlackspotsShirBlackspots Posts: 6 Newcomer
in Connectivity Jun 19, 2022
This discussion was created from comments split from: Spectrum/Charter IPv6 Prefix Length.

Comments

  • ShirBlackspotsShirBlackspots Posts: 6 Newcomer
    edited June 14 Jun 14, 2022

    I am in Wichita Falls, TX, which I suppose it in the Dallas/Fort Worth region.

    FWIW, my modem is the Netgear CM1000. I was getting IPv6 for months on it until suddenly three weeks ago I no longer did. The modem does say IPv4 only for provisioning mode and I was getting native IPv6 until then.

  • Mr_SoCalMr_SoCal Posts: 3 Spectator
    Jun 19, 2022

    I am in San Diego. About one week ago I have lost IPv6. The call to technical support unfortunately did not help as the recommended actions boiled down to rebooting my modem. I wonder if that happened to others as well and what actions would you recommend to have it fixed. BTW I had IPv6 working for many years and I believe that it is a glitch and not that Spectrum decided to remove it from provided services.

  • William_MWilliam_M Posts: 256 Moderator
    edited June 19 Jun 19, 2022

    Hi @ShirBlackspots and @Mr_SoCal, welcome to our community!

    Are you unable to access IPv6 only websites or are you just seeing you are assigned a public IPv4 address instead of IPv6?

  • Mr_SoCalMr_SoCal Posts: 3 Spectator
    Jun 19, 2022

    Hello,

    Right now my router gets a public IPv4 address and that works well, no complains. My problem is that for a long time together with IPv4 I would get a public IPv6 address as well but that is not happening now. There is no IPv6 route outside my private network so I cannot access any public IPv6 sites.

  • ShirBlackspotsShirBlackspots Posts: 6 Newcomer
    edited June 19 Jun 19, 2022

    Since May 30th, Native IPv6 no longer works, so I just get an IPv4 address. I have found that 6to4 Tunnel works, if I set it to that in the router. Windows and the router does get an IPv6 address, but nothing else on the network does.

    Windows Default Gateway shows as an fe80 IPv6 address (basically similar to 127.0.0.1)

    https://ipv6-test.com/ shows IPv6 not supported

    https://test-ipv6.com/ shows:

    Your IPv4 address on the public Internet appears to be <IPv4 address>

    Your IPv6 address on the public Internet appears to be <IPv6 address>

    Your IPv6 service appears to be: 6to4

    Your Internet Service Provider (ISP) appears to be TWC-11427-TEXAS

    To ensure the best Internet performance and connectivity, ask your ISP about native IPv6. [more info]

    You appear to be using a public 6to4 gateway; your router may be providing this to you automatically. Such public gateways have no service level agreements; you may see performance problems using such. Better would be to get a native IPv6 address from your ISP. [more info]

    Your DNS server (possibly run by your ISP) appears to have IPv6 Internet access.

  • HomeAdminHomeAdmin Posts: 12 Participant
    Jun 21, 2022

    Looks like the problem is in your area only, no such IPv6 problem in Ohio.

  • agh1701agh1701 Posts: 1 Newcomer
    Jun 30, 2022

    I too have lost IPv6 about June 24th after a power failure. please see here for more complaints.

    [HSI] CFL IPV6 Issue? - Charter Spectrum | DSLReports Forums

    I seems possibly that after the speed bump(the reason some on went into the CMTS) that customer owned modems are loosing IPV6.

  • mainman1333mainman1333 Posts: 1 Newcomer
    Jul 03, 2022

    I'm also experiencing this issue. I had a line go down about 4-5 weeks ago and a tech came out to fix it. After that I have not been able to get an IPV6 address. I have my own equipment since 2017 and have had no issues getting a V6 address before then. My previous router was the Netgear R7800 and modem was Arris SB6183 then I upgraded in 2019 to my current setup which is the Netgear XR500 router and modem is Motorola MB8600.

    I did find that I only get a V6 address when I use their modem which is the Hitron E31N2V1 . I called support and they weren't any help. Gave the same script "It might be your equipment". I've tested 3 different modems the Arris, Motorola, and I also bought a new one the Netgear CM1000. No success. That's no coincidence that all 3 of the modems can't get a V6 address but their modem can. Definitely not my router if I can get an address with their modem.

  • petteyg359petteyg359 Posts: 1 Newcomer
    edited July 4 Yesterday 9:42pm

    I'm in Austin, TX area and I also relatively recently lost IPv6. Can't say when exactly, but when I needed to connect to an IPv6-only host today, I could not. Have been using an SB8200 with my own router for ages with 100% uptime on my end (small UPS behind the network gear), and today DHCPv6 on the router isn't able to get anything.

Sign In or Register to comment.